Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 21 August 2017
Pretty basic to be honest. I'm by no means an expert at coaching, in fact I'm not even a coach, I'm still a player. But I've recently been helping as an assistant to our manager and have started getting more involved. I thought this book would be an eye opener in terms of approaches towards tactics, patterns of play etc. To be honest its just a pretty basic manual with some general common sense tips about coaching sessions (ie; dont start the session with a long boring run, don't keep stopping the flow of training to give instructions etc). It doesn't really delve in to the actual game and offer an practical tactical tips. Its more just a list of some coaching drills you could introduce to your sessions. I would say it would be a good book to give to a complete newcomer to coaching, but if you have spend the past decade playing the game at a decent level I'm not sure you will take much out of it other than a few new drills to use in your training sessions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2016
A very useful and informative book. What I particularly like about it is its practicality. The author obviously has something to communicate and his experience shows clearly by the content on the pages. Very glad I bought it for coaching some under 12s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
Superb detailed book. Ideal not only for the new progressing coach, but also for the established and involved coach that may need the direction or possibly missed detail. Very interestingly set out chapters. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2014
Many coaches pick up these books & immediately flick to the coaching sessions. Even if there were none in here, and there are, this book spells out some valuable lessons for the modern coach. Establishing the right environment, relationships etc are central themes and, whether coach, potential coach or player this book should be on your "wish list".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2017
gr8 book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Well written by Gary Curneen, a must read for coaches looking to add some new ideas and improving your players
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2014
A fantastic book, highly recommend for all coaches whether grass roots, or pro. A great insight to what is required for the modern day coach, looking at a variety of different areas backed up with excellent drills, and an in depth discussion of how to set up and execute perfectly. Up there with one of the best books I've read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2015
Nice reading this book and a few good diagrams easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2014
Brilliant book full of useful ideas and tips. Although I've attended coaching workshops from a business viewpoint as well as a football one this book gives great insight into coaching and how to improve sessions. If your drills break down, or you are losing too many games this is well worth a read. Cant praise it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2016
Husband started coaching his own team this year so got him this for Christmas and he was really pleased and said it helps alot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)