Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2015
This is a magnificent book that reveals the human stories that lie behind the siege of Gaza, in a way that is as compelling as it is revealing. Waugh skillfully weaves in some of the history of Palestine, Israel and Gaza and never dodges the complexity that lies behind events. I felt that, through Waugh's account of living and working in Gaza,I know some of the people whose stories she relates. And I wonder now what is happening to them as they continue to endure the humiliations, indignities and atrocities of day to day life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
This is Gazza as you could only experience it if you lived there. The author did just that living there for almost 2 years, sharing the daily struggles and ever present threat of attack. Gives a colourful picture of life there that continues to grow and flourish despite the dreadful situation of a people who are virtually imprisioned in their own land.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
A delightful account of Louisa Waugh's sojourn in Gaza. A book that is full of humour, warmth and pathos, I would recommend it to all armchair travellers and to anybody who is contemplating a visit to the Strip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Loved this book. Throughly recommend it for a different perspective on Gaza.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Bought this book expecting deeply-researched accounts of people living in Gaza, it turns out to be a first person memoir-style account by a British volunteer who lives there for a couple of years. A bit like Bill Bryson if he was a well-meaning human rights activist who takes a lot of taxi journeys. I'm sure there is a deeply reported book on life in Gaza out there, but this isn't it.

Sample extract: "Isreal has bombed Gaza almost every day since I arrived here nearly three months ago. I spend that Wednesday evening alone in my flat and try to watch TV. But the reception is garbled"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
This an amazing account of Gaza, both the current situation and the history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
A friend wrote this, so thrilled to have it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
It was short on detail on how the Palestinian women spend each hour of each day and their attitude to to the value of careers as opposed to motherhood in such a violent environment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Gave to my sister as a birthday present. She seemed to like it and the topics of everyday life out there looked very interesting
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here