Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
49
4.5 out of 5 stars
Tigress of Forli: The Life of Caterina Sforza (Great Lives)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£21.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 September 2016
This account of the life of Caterina Sforza was well written and had been well researched. The only caveat that I have about the book (and it is the same as that I had about a book on the life of Lucrezia Borgia purchased through an Amazon Marketplace seller) is that the "photographs" were not photographs at all but what appeared to be photocopies of photographs placed onto ordinary paper. This is something that is not made clear at the time of purchase.
That being said, Caterina Sforza was a remarkable woman at a time when the world very definitely belonged to men and having spent my professional life in an environment which was male-dominated and where the majority of said males believed that they were seated at the right hand of God, all I can say is "go, girl"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
This is the story of a remarkable woman, Caterina Sforzi.
The history of Italy is told through Caterina, which makes it much more interesting and alive.
I can thoroughly recommend this book, it reads like a novel, but great care has been taken to keep to the historical facts.
If you are at all interested in Italy then read this book, you will learn so much about the country and many well known renaissance figures. ie. Leonardo da Vinci, the Medici"s, Macchiavelli, Michelangelo and the various Dukes, Counts, Popes, leaders of many of the state's that made up the Italy of the middle ages.
This is a well written book---Read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
This woman's story is so extraordinary that it reads as much like fiction as a biography and had me gripped from start to finish. Caterina is the illegitimate child of the Duke of Milan but is brought up in his household only to be married, at ten years old, to the nephew of the Pope. The author makes this sad set of facts come alive and shows how Caterina finds her own voice and place in the world, admired by many men but also gripping life with both hands and fighting for what is hers. There are many reversals of fortune in this tale and I would not like to spoil the plot. Buy the book and enjoy the twists and turns for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Caterina Sforza lived in a particularly interesting period of Renaissance Italy, so I had high expectations for a good book. Above this, the book is written in an engaging way. It is pacey without being brief, whilst I have found a number of historical book to be more interested in the exacting standards of the research then the experience of the reader. I manage to pick this book up and down during my commute and powered by the memorable characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
This book is well writen, and show us a very fine lady, well described in the anterior review of this book.
The only aspect wich missed in that review is the religous life of Caterina,a real virago (from vir in latin, strong)one, and a good example to anyone in anytime.
I`m looking forward to read new books of this kind by Elisabeth Levi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I bought this book because my family come from Forli, some still live there, and there was always an awe-inspired comment when the castle of Caterina Sforza was mentioned. I knew a little about the story so it will be interesting to read the full history. It's fulfilling its promise so far.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
This is one of the best biographies I have read in a long time. It was like reading a biography of a character from Game of Thrones. It didn't actually read like a biography at all, it was so fast paced and exciting I found myself sat up reading it well into the night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Good detail, well researched but not gripping, in fact I read it over a period of 2 months.
Perhaps Kindle is not the best format considering the wealth of foot notes, so perhaps this would have been more enjoyable in the printed format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This book was recommended by an Amazon reviewer and it was a great read. The author manages to incorporate much background social history into the narrative, which in itself is clear and interesting. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Fast paced, atmospheric, real adventure, what a woman. A very good read. A very detailed account but does not get in the way of the story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)