Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2013
This book is the ideal present for the football fan who has all the books available about their team. It is a nostalgic read for a person of a certain age or an informative read for the younger fan who has a deep interest in the history of football. It has been well researched and the pictures evoke the atmosphere at football games of the past.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I received the book as a Christmas gift and found it to be a very interesting and entertaining read. The strength of the book is the people it features and the stories they have to tell. It gave me some faith in that whilst modern football is a sport which is dominated and run by souless buisnessmen, it still remains as something that is owned by the fans.

The writing is excellent and provides a warm, sepia tone effect to go with the great selection of photographs which feature famous football grounds in their heyday. I recommend it to any fan of football.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I was delighted to have the opportunity to help Chris write the part of his book about The Dell in Southampton. My eldest son made a contribution as well. The book is an absolutely fascinating look back at football stadia that are no longer either used or in existence. The memories still linger though and Chris brings the atmosphere, sights and smells flooding back with his style of writing. A must read for any fan with an interest in not only the game but the culture and sociology of the game as well.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
My husband has had his nose in it since I gave it to him for his birthday! What better recommendation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Where to begin? Regarding the text, i'd award it two stars. The anecdotes are vaguely interesting but would be more effective if there was a wider narrative and background weaved around them. Instead, readers are left with a series of disjointed recollections, some of which are mildly interesting, others dull - none rivet. Even without personal quotes and memories, Simon Inglis manages to capture the spirit of football grounds purely through a wildly brilliant pen. This book fails in that respect.

However, the greatest failing is the standard of photography. Were it possible, I would give that a zero mark. By in large two photographs are set aside for each ground. As an example of the choice you have a kid in a jesters hat (Leicester), no sight of the ground. Two pictures of footballers (fellows park), but none of the ground. A house (highfield road). A picture of a blue brothers tribute band (maine rd), and a pic of people walking down the street (highbury). When the author does bother to source pictures of the actual ground, many are blurred or out of focus. Those that don't meet his eccentric criteria lack any magic. The grounds featured in this book are among the most charming, charismatic grounds in the history of the sport, but you would never guess that. I had looked forward to receiving this book, not least on the basis of the other reviews. Unfortunately, I can't help but feel a little cheated by the end product. What next? Well, with winter approaching, I might chuck into the fire.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Brought these books for my papa who had the list breweries by chris so I then bought this one along with the cricket book by chris. Being in his 60s he was thrilled with this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Really enjoyable book, full of nostalgia and interesting facts and figures. Highly recommended to fans of all ages , but especially those with memories of the grounds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This was bought for me for my birthday by my son (at my request). Am really pleased with it. Excellent photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Brilliant,thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)