Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2013
Before Acid House & Baggy, Grunge & Emo, Chindie & Scindie, before youth culture committed high tweeson and became something you picked out from a rack there was this, and the whole damn beautiful mess that preceded it.

Fit to bursting with page upon page of spectacular scene-ery lovingly curated with both wit and style, this book does not disappoint.

Meet the icons of my youth. Gorgeous, sweet, unconventional, whimsical and often near or past perfection. Without these handsome devils my heart would not know when to beat. Without their music? Well, I wouldn't want it to.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Tender, lovingly crafted, humourous words, and absolutely gorgeous pictures. This book delivers on all its promises. Thoroughly recommendet. Do purchase.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2014
the best gift ever to give to an 80s fast living Pal-I was part of the Manchester scene during this era and this is a wonderful photographic flashback to the bands and fashions that defined the factory era-Great in HB format and the look and feel of the book hits the spot-Fabulous
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
A fantastic look at a very specific time and place. It still looks great and it gives me an amazing feeling of nostalgia and joy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
finally i have a decision about what happened in the late 80's at UK's indie atmosphere.especially my bloody valentine column is perfect.amazing documentary.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
This book is gorgeously presented with real care and attention. As an 80s indie kid it's bringing back memories. It's lovely to see a book like this with quality images and a real understanding of the scene it describes. Buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Everything I wanted when I ordered the book. It was a Christmas present and they love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
this book is a little treasure truly recommended both for those who were young and indie at the time, like me, and those who are young and indie now; hundreds of colour and black & white photos of various band members such as the Pastels, My Bloody Valentine or the Jesus & Mary Chain; its a bizarre and interesting trip into the fashions and indie lifestyle of the 80s.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Interesting book to flick through - there aren't many in this genre - a little bit more commentary would have been good though - it is mainly pcitures
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
This is an excellent book! If you want to see what, Band Members,(UK Indie Music),and their followers were wearing in the '80s then Sam has put together a definitive collection of 'stage and daywear'. In addition the accompanying text is extremely well researched and very informative. Post Script: I love everything about this book even the size!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)