Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2013
As an occasional ultra runner, this book didn't really do it for me. I was expecting a book a bit like Dean Karnazes' Ultra Marathon Man (an excellent read, by the way) with lots of tips, as well as the author's experiences. It got a bit monotonous, a bit like:
Chapter 3: XXXX race in 2009
Chapter 4: XXXX race in 2010
Chapter 5: XXXX race in 2011
So a large part of the book is basically just the author's experience of how he ran the same race in different years, different conditions, etc.. Not really much about lessons he learnt in the process.
So it was an ok read, but not particularly riveting. Bit like a race journal, really, nothing more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
Inspirational! A great book! The massive highs and the painful lows, the view around every corner, the next checkpoint, the finish line, the support and supporters, team mates and family, the company of other runners etc.. Andy has said it all, each moment a fantastic memorie, this book certainly made be smile, feel the pain, laugh and dream a bit more, Hey! nothing will happen unless we dream it 1st and my dreams are starting to scare me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
Brilliant stuff! You know when you flick open a book for a browse? Well, I did that and read the introduction. Then the foreword and before I knew it I was on page 7 thinking I should really be getting on with some work! For a non-ultrarunner but keen mountain-biker I was instantly engaged - thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
The book is written in a very individual way which is entertaining and interesting. There are other similar books on the market which I've enjoyed more (try Scott Jurek and Dean Karnazes) ... however, Andy Mouncey provides an entertaining story from a UK perspective. Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Got to respect the man and his achievements, but the book lacks characterisation. There is a loose collection of notes barely strung together with no apparent theme. For a great read on ultra sports, I recommend Marshall Ulrichs book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Love books on runnind and endurence and buy most of them so I may be biased, but tales of long nights on the fells and mountains pull me in everytime. Stirring stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Been out of running for quite a few years, just waiting for appointment about heal pain but this has inspired me to carry on nd to go further than before many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Some great race reports. You can pick it up at any point in the book. I found it easy to follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Good first hand account of what it's all about ! As an ultra runner myself I could hardly put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Just couldn't put this book down. Exceeds all expectations of what one body can endure and live to tell the tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)