Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2015
I bought this book at the beginning of Jan 2015. I had finished reading it from cover to cover by the first week. In my opinion this is easily the best starter guide to developing games on Android. James Cho is an excellent writer who is able to convey the key elements very simply. Initial work focuses on how to make a game framework and the turns to how this can be quickly adapted to make different forms of games.
The book is quite detailed, providing code snippets, tips and examples of why certain design decisions have been made. Working through the examples is very easy and there is also added support from the authors website and forum covering the book (also providing code samples and fixes).

The initial chapters focus on Java programming before moving on to building a game framework. Later chapters begin to introduce Android as well as use the framework developed earlier on. As someone who has invested in a number of game development books and never really found one to my tastes, I am really pleased I took a chance on this one. I have already gone back to my existing library which now make more sense, especially Beginning Android Games which is a really good complement to this one.

In response to a less positive review on Amazon, the book is about game development, not the development environment so the examples are all based on the use of Eclipse rather than Android Studio. I don't think you should have any problems moving from one to the other but it is worth pointing this out as the book concentrates on building a game framework and then using it to build increasingly complicated games. If you have tried Beginning Android Games or Android Game Programming for Dummies, the content will be familiar to you. I would say this book is an easier starting guide as it is much clearer and really goes step by step.

Hopefully you will be as satisfied with this purchase as I am, thanks James - great job.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Really good game development introduction. The book is broken down into three units - basic Java, game development on the desktop, and game development on Android.

I do think that there are some subtle hidden assumptions in the book that might trip up novice programmers. Perhaps more suitable to programmers from other domains and languages who want to learn the patterns and common approaches specific to *game* development.

One thing to note - SurfaceView (Canvas) 2D drawing, as detailed in the book, on high resolution Android devices (tablets or xxhdpi devices like the Nexus 6) is *slow*. High resolution software rendering just doesn't work well enough on Android - even on the current latest iteration (Marshmallow)., even when pre-scaling bitmaps. As the book ends, you'll be left with a game which plays really well on older, lower resolution devices (lower resolution = smaller bitmaps = faster image blitting) but can't maintain even 30fps on high resolution devices.

That said, it's absolutely worth picking up if you're beginning Android game development (or game development in general). You'll learn a lot of useful techniques and the practical, project-based format of the book really works. Just be prepared to then follow up by picking up a book on OpenGL ES before releasing anything commercially in order to make sure your games are compatible with current, high-end devices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Simply the best book I've read on this topic. I've purchased several but this one is head and shoulders above the others. Gives a great little intro on Java, followed by the meaty stuff later and explained in a perfect and elegant way. I totally grok'd it after Mr.Cho explained it. If you get just one book, get this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
If you want to get into Android games development and aren't sure where to start, this is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
I find the reviews quite odd, especially the one's made in 2015.

I am sure the book is a good resource on Android Game programming. However, the book assumes that the user will be using Android eclipse IDE, which is no longer the standard way to develop Android. The standard android development environment use IntelliJ. For someone new to android in general, this book does not offer much value.

Maybe once the book is updated to the include the installation of the new IDE or atleast explains how to install the eclipse IDE and the android SDK, then it will bring value to newbies
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Very well written and good illustrations in colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
As described, quick turnaround.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)