Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2011
If your thing is Goth novels, I feel this is worth the read. A well-wrought feeling that the main character, Star of the title, is out of her depth in quicksand with the tide coming in. As she struggles against the folly brewed by her ex-boyfriend, arrogant young anti-hero Satori, the quicksand inexorably takes her down.

A good debut novel, will watch for the next.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
Have a look at the few chapters that you can download before choosing to buy the book. I did, then I couldn't resist buying the full book. I'm sure, like me you won't be disappointed. I was inexorably drawn in and was encouraged to empathise with the main characters. I shall certainly read it again and I look forward to the next book from Carmilla Voiez
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
Read it, a friend said. The sort of thing to make you wary. Well, me, at any rate. Especially as this is well outside my comfort zone. But I'm glad that for once I did as I was told.

Well-written, pacy and intriguing (which is more than can be said for many books these days), this is an excellent read. Very much looking forward to other work by this author.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Starblood is a novel that makes you want to hide under the covers. The cast of gothic lovelies are twisted, beautiful, interesting and relatable in equal measure. If you like your horror violent and graphic, then this is the book for you. A perfect antidote to tweeny twilight style faux-horror, this one is not for the squeamish.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
I absolutely love this book. Having almost finished the Starblood trilogy, it was a real treat to have the characters come alive in this magnificent piece of art. It has the perfect mix of good writing, sex, violence, horror, magic and fantasy. Non of the story is lost in this rendition and only adds to the characters journey and truly brings them to life. I cannot wait for the next adventure of this graphic delight. It is a spellbounding adventure with exquisite art that I will read again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
This is a beautiful work of art. Incredibly Gothic to match its plot, with writing that can be compared to Edgar Allan Poe, for its typical Gothic nature, and is so Stephen King in places, it's great!

Beautifully harrowing, the plot centres around a Goth magician, Steve/Satori and his attempts to bring his ex-girlfriend back to his arms. Simple enough, but throw in a sensual demon and a great chunk of erotica, it becomes so much more. Whilst the horror is quite brutal in places, the sex is carefully done. Erotica enough to stir the senses, but not overly done to the point of pornography.

Ms Voiez has a talent for writing. Her characters are believable, especially Sarah/Star. I found myself connecting with her on so m any levels - namely, emotional. Depicting realistic places and the humdrum life, it is easy to imagine.

I cannot wait for the next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Starblood' is a most impressive novel which will redefine the Paranormal and Horror genre. Satori makes a deal with the demonic dark goddess Lilith in the desire to win back his former paramour. Magic comes at a great price, when what he gets isn't exactly what he wished for. Star is the object of Satori's affection, but Lilith has other plans. His deal with Lilith reshapes the destiny of Satori, Star, Lilith and the people they hold dear, resulting in events none could have predicted. A novel which penetrate the darker realms of fantasy. We are invited into a labyrinth of the senses, pleasures, pain and the grey silvery line between good and evil. No one in the novel is strictly good, evil, although each in their own way is capable of great love and immense cruelty. A powerful and almost Shakespearian tale of tragedy, desire, lust and love. Contains scenes of an adult nature. A genius work of contemporary fiction. Should become a future Horror classic. Highly recommend *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Ebook: Starblood (The Starblood Trilogy)
Author: Carmilla Voiez
Fiction, Paranormal,
This review may contain spoilers
I was given this by the author for an honest review
Summary: In a seedy Goth club, a beautiful woman dances, waiting to be set free. Along an unlit street, another woman stumbles, fleeing her pursuer. In a darkened room, a man speaks to demons.
Lust, obsession, terror and humiliation storm into the lives of Star and Satori, proving the age-old maxim - be careful what you wish for.
Starblood, the debut novel by Carmilla Voiez, is a tale of magic and horror.
Blinded by love, Satori, a young magician, attempts a spell that goes horribly wrong, resulting in the demon Lilith returning to Earth. Satori knows he must send Lilith back. The dark goddess brimming with power makes it her mission to wreak havoc on Satori's life by ensnaring Star, the woman he loves, and her friends in a web of chaos and deceit.
`Carmilla Voiez makes Clive Barker look like Stephanie Meyer.' Jef Withonef, Houston Press.
The Review
I liked this book but I did get a little confused, it was probably my own fault, tried to read it while the kids were home, not a good idea, kept getting interrupted, but I really needed to read this one, I have heard such great things about it, so I will say this you really need to give this book your whole attention, Once the kiddies went to bed, I settled down for the night and got really quite engrossed, I loved Star, I really liked how her character changed throughout the book, Lilith was a psycho but then she was a demon, I would love to have gotten away with some of the stuff she got away with, I believe she subconsciously was killing bad men, won't say who but two were very bad men, The author made me feel Sorry for Satori/Steve but sometimes I felt like he brought it all on himself, but I can understand why he tried to do what he did, all for Love, gets us all in the end, read this book, you won't regret it, 4.5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Loved this! This was on my 'To be read list', but after having a quick read of the first few pages, I couldn't put this down. Great, believable characters, vivid imagery, beautifully written. I can't wait to read more from this author. She's extremely talented and deserves to be heard. She takes the influence of old 'Hammer' classics and creates something new, and gorgeously disturbing. A great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
This is a superb debut novel. With sex in the dark bits and darkness in the sexy bits it's hard to come away from this world untouched. Fans of erotic horror (or those who enjoy vivid, gritty character studies) will find this book hard to put down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.