Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
30
4.9 out of 5 stars
The North
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 2 December 2015
Excellent book which capture the period and the mood of the times effortlessly.
It has also given my 19 yr old son something to think about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
To my great shame, the name of John Bulmer was new to me when this book came up on Amazon as a 'customers also bought' when I was searching for something else. From a dock town near Grimsby, and growing up in the 1960s, the subject matter intrigued me. The book consists of eight photo essays made for magazines - mainly the Sunday Times - between 1960 and 1976. The photography both individually and collectively is out of the very top drawer, comparable to the very best documentary photography. The fact that the earliest work is monochrome and then we see the transition to colour makes this very special indeed. A marvellous book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I first came across John Bulmers photographs at an exhibition at Shildon in 2012 and I am very glad to find them published in book form. They are a wonderful evocation of a world that is totally lost, the working class world of northern England and the Midlands. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
This a birthday gift. I read the book review hence the purchase, I was surprised actually gtge size of it I thought it was going to be smaller. A great piece of historical work in photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
For anyone who has grown up in the North this is an amazing look at life and for many will be truly evocative. I would recommend it as a record of how life was and how things have changed over the years.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Maybe this should be renamed It's Grim Up North because these gritty, grainy photos were commissioned to show a North that was unknown to most people living in the South at the time. Factories, cobbled streets, working men's clubs are all beautifully photographed sometimes in street photography style, sometimes more formally composed. The black and White photos are pure traditional photo journalism but the colour photos were were a new thing at the time, give a new perspective to a subject that could have easily become a cliche.
This collection of photos should be considered essential viewing for anyone who wants to escape a world of heavily filtered, poorly composed Instagrams on the Internet - these aren't " an effect" avaiable for selection, these are the real deal.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
At last a selection of work by this fantastic photographer. If you havent seen his work before but like HCB Saul Leiter, Helen Levitt then you will really love this
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I gave this to my Nan who grew up in Manchester and she absolutely loves it. The pictures are great and it's such a big sturdy book. I know my Nan will love it, and just look at the pictures to bring back those memories. Great for anyone from the North!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Beautiful and evocative images. The images are a reasonable size making it easier to examine all photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Early colour and black and white reportage, capture our long gone history. Bulmer has an eye for composition and character, without nostalgia. Very interesting.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Northerners
£16.20
In England
£45.00

Need customer service? Click here