Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Want to knit your own adorable clangers,soup dragon, make the iron chicken? This book has tip top instructions and even references where to find the correct yarns..excellently clear and full of charm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Wonderful made them all perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
I've always wanted to knit the Clangers, but never wanted to make up my own pattern or knit something that wasn't quite perfect. This book has an introduction by Peter Firmin, co-creator of the Clangers with Oliver Postgate, confirming that the 5 Clangers knitting patterns in here - Tiny, Small, Major, Mother and Grannie - are the actual patterns created by his wife to make the original Clangers themselves! (Although it does say that the characters have been 'recreated by Carol Meldrum - this is probably to make the instructions clear for modern knitters). There is also a knitting pattern for the Soup Dragon which looks spectacular - and he comes out at about 28 cm long, so both he and the Clangers (adult Clangers are about 20 cm tall) are perfect for giving away as gifts.

The rest of the makes in this book cover the rest of the Clangers' world pretty comprehensively - the Iron Chicken, the Froglets, trees, Musical Boat etc are all there. These too are probably made in pretty much the same way as the originals; cardboad, lollipop sticks, jam jar lids, papier mache, paint, all cheap, everyday materials and easy to make at home. Some, like the Iron Chicken, look a tiny bit fiddly but I'm sure children would manage them all with just a little bit of adult help.

I couldn't think of a more perfect gift for anyone who loves the Clangers!
22 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
The Clangers were one of my favorite tv programmes as a child so when I saw this book I just had to buy it. It's a comprehensive guide to knitting all the Clanger family plus there are instructions for making the Froglets, The soup Dragon and The Iron Chicken, not to mention their small blue planet from various things like cardboard and yoghurt pots etc... I shall be making the Clanger family for our baby granddaughter and most likely for myself too!Clangers: Make the Clangers and Their Planet with 15 Easy Step-by-step Projects (Knitting)
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
not only are there knitting patterns here, but there are instructions on creating an 'outdoor set' and an 'indoor/inside set' using materials that most of us can lay our hands on fairly easily. my Boy loves making the rockets etc and mechanical stuff and the iron chicken. Whilst younger sister likes the clanger family in all different sizes and the soup dragon. If you don't have the exact materials suggested in the book, mostly they are easily substituted. Good creative fun for knitters and crafters and others, you really can't go wrong!!!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Lovely little book and clear knitting instructions. So I finished the toy and went to the back for the templates for the features and accessories.
I find the instruction is
"Increase by 200%"
Firstly, not everyone has a printer, I do, but I had to scan the page, mess about increasing the scan by 200%, then had to crop it , and then it printed as a photograph costing loads of ink and even then, not all the page fitted on an A4 sheet.

Surely there could have been a few more pages with the right sized templates printed on. This isn't user-friendly and is a disappointment.
It has made a pleasure into a pain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
The Kindle version only contains the Soup Dragon pattern and the others parts are advertised but do not seem to be available.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
I can't knit, but bought this delightful book anyway!
It is beautifully illustrated and contains non-knitting projects too. My friends (some can knit) are equally impressed with the book and we are to hold a "stitch and bitch" evening to make Clangers!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 December 2012
The Clangers was a brilliant British animation from the 60s and 70s, and still has a cult following among us oldies!
I LOVED this book which enables you to create and people the Clangers' 'small blue planet' where they live in underground caves covered with dustbin lids!
Personally I would probably only use the knitting patterns in this book to make the mouse-like Clangers (with their little felt waistcoats) and their friend the Soup Dragon (a splendid creation of knitting and felt scales).
But if you're a real enthusiast, there's instructions for all the props to create their world. From a papier-mache planet surface; music boat; seesaw; pin-tree; music-tree; copper-tree; living caves and a rocket.
Not forgetting, of course, the Clangers' friends, the Froglets (from wooden beads) and the Iron Chicken (silver painted lollipop sticks).
BRILLIANT!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)