Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 August 2017
THIS review is only for the KINDLE Edition

I downloaded it onto my kindle and then realised that actually trying to use the patterns in it was going to be almost impossible - so although it has lots of patterns for Clangers including making other things from the Clangers' world, with pretty clear instructions so MAKE SURE you buy the actual hardcover book. No good for trying to get the size of the templates either on a kindle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Want to knit your own adorable clangers,soup dragon, make the iron chicken? This book has tip top instructions and even references where to find the correct yarns..excellently clear and full of charm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
SOUP DRAGON LIKES IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
good clanger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
oooohhhhhh I was so pleased to get this. When I opened it and found that n0t only was it knitting patterns for the clangers etc but in true 'blue peter' styley it shows you how to make the moon surface, the boat, the metal chicken - simply excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Wonderful made them all perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
I've always wanted to knit the Clangers, but never wanted to make up my own pattern or knit something that wasn't quite perfect. This book has an introduction by Peter Firmin, co-creator of the Clangers with Oliver Postgate, confirming that the 5 Clangers knitting patterns in here - Tiny, Small, Major, Mother and Grannie - are the actual patterns created by his wife to make the original Clangers themselves! (Although it does say that the characters have been 'recreated by Carol Meldrum - this is probably to make the instructions clear for modern knitters). There is also a knitting pattern for the Soup Dragon which looks spectacular - and he comes out at about 28 cm long, so both he and the Clangers (adult Clangers are about 20 cm tall) are perfect for giving away as gifts.

The rest of the makes in this book cover the rest of the Clangers' world pretty comprehensively - the Iron Chicken, the Froglets, trees, Musical Boat etc are all there. These too are probably made in pretty much the same way as the originals; cardboad, lollipop sticks, jam jar lids, papier mache, paint, all cheap, everyday materials and easy to make at home. Some, like the Iron Chicken, look a tiny bit fiddly but I'm sure children would manage them all with just a little bit of adult help.

I couldn't think of a more perfect gift for anyone who loves the Clangers!
22 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
The Clangers were one of my favorite tv programmes as a child so when I saw this book I just had to buy it. It's a comprehensive guide to knitting all the Clanger family plus there are instructions for making the Froglets, The soup Dragon and The Iron Chicken, not to mention their small blue planet from various things like cardboard and yoghurt pots etc... I shall be making the Clanger family for our baby granddaughter and most likely for myself too!Clangers: Make the Clangers and Their Planet with 15 Easy Step-by-step Projects (Knitting)
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
not only are there knitting patterns here, but there are instructions on creating an 'outdoor set' and an 'indoor/inside set' using materials that most of us can lay our hands on fairly easily. my Boy loves making the rockets etc and mechanical stuff and the iron chicken. Whilst younger sister likes the clanger family in all different sizes and the soup dragon. If you don't have the exact materials suggested in the book, mostly they are easily substituted. Good creative fun for knitters and crafters and others, you really can't go wrong!!!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)