Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2012
"Ah'm tellin thee" is more than a biography of a very talented, very proud, dignified and extremely honourable man. It is a well documented piece of social history. Transporting the reader to a time when playing professional football was no more than a safer alternative to the industrial dangers of a life down the mines or on the factory floor. Every page brings Tommy Banks to life culminating in him feeling like a best friend.
So as Tommy Banks would say "Ah'm gooin tell awl n sundry bah't it, cause its reet gud n gradley book, if tha con read"
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
This book relates to a time when footballers were not prima donnas as is sometimes the case today. A gritty tale of battles fought on and off the field-battles for existence in hard times and future battles against football's slave-like contracts. The story is littered with short quotes in Lancashire dialect as spoken by the subject and offering translations in English underneath. A thoroughly entertaining read and one which should make the modern footballer appreciative of the efforts made on their behalf by their predecessors in the game. Couldn't put it down! You will enjoy if you love the game!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
I bought this for my Grandad as a gift. Not only did he enjoy reading the book, reminiscing on the olden days, but also saw a lot of similarities between his life and Tommy's life.

I have also read the book; and i think that the younger generation can learn a lot about football, the recent history of the country, and the life of a talented footballer - Tommy Banks!

5 stars
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I am not really a football fan but bought one copy for my grandson who is a BWFC supporter, and decided to have an extra. Only for myself. To my surprise I really enjoyed reading it especially as I live quite close to the areas outlined in the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Enjoyed this recollection of Tommy Banks' career with just one minor criticism,some of the 'translations oils have been more localised ,however, all in all,a great read,we'll done Ian

Many years back as an amateur on the books,I used to pick Ian up in Walkden on the way to a Saturday fixture
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
excellent book about the life of a footballer who played for the love of the game and not for the financial incentives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Tommy Banks was one of my heroes whilst watching Bolton in the fifties. A real character! Recommend. book to all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
A good good read particularly for any Bolton Wanderers fan. Writing was somewhat haphazard which detracted a little from the overall enjoyment of what was otherwise an excellent publication
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Remember watching Bolton from the terraces, this book brought back fond memories of the game.the photographs are excellent.well worth reading as an insight to how the game was played by REAL people that were friends of the spectators.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Ideal gift for longstanding Bolton Wanderers fan. Brought back some happy memories and really good read. Excellent product, good service and speedy delivery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)