Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 March 2017
Calling this a strategy guide does it a huge disservice. Although it has all the usual helpful information you would expect, and then some,it is also packed with literally hundreds of pieces of concept art and screenshots. There is a potted history and timeline of Assassins Creed the franchise, a guide round Abstergo Industries, and a full character guide to all the characters. This takes the form of biographies as most of the characters were real historical figures, with the Templar/ Assassin stuff added on. The History of Piracy is also a great read.
Huge value for money, a fine read, and a great guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
My favourite in the series, will be playing this for months I reckon. This guide should help maintain my interest.

[A month later] And I'm still playing, and not bored thanks to the guidebook which has helped me get through a couple of sticky patches (an underwater entrance to an assassination where the combination of shark and lack of breath was doing me in, I could survive one or the other but not both for example) and actually makes for quite an interesting read beyond the walkthroughs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I payed through the nose for this product to arrive next day for my boyfriend, and it was worth absolutely every penny. Very impressed with such fast reliable delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
If you are looking for a fully illustrated guide to help you get 100% synchronisation "Single Player" in Assassin's Creed Black Flag. Then look no further as this guide covers all levels including side missions which to be honest... not all guides will include side missions as standard. The book covers all platforms XBOX 360 PS3 WII U including "Next Gen" XBOX ONE and PLAYSTATION 4 including PC. It comes with "Multilayer" guide and a poster size map of the Caribbean which belive me the map will come in handy when you need guidence if you get lost. The book has some amazing illustrations and concept art at the rear of the book. One tiny warning...! This book is thick and quite heavy. When it arrived by post I thought a brick had dropped through my letterbox.

I would recommend you buy this guide without hesitation, and believe me when I say thatyou won't be disappointed. It is worth the RRP £14.99 and/or any sales offers on Amazon.

Buy a copy now...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
I can really only echo the praise other reviewers have left for this book: this is a truly fantastic game guide.

My experience with Game Guides is pretty limited and mostly restricted to those offered by Prima, but Piggyback have won a loyal fan here. They just seem to do everything that bit better.

Initial impressions are great. This softback edition is thick and heavy but has a solid binding and the print quality is exemplary throughout, with a nice few glossy flourishes adorning the cover. More importantly there's a thorough Contents list front-and-center that points you in the right direction no matter what element of the game you're looking to master. From the off, you can skip straight to the parts of the book that help with the campaign, the side quests or the Multiplayer, with differing sections under each heading to cover every conceivable question you'd have regarding the game. There's also a brilliant Index at the back where you can even find the game's many islands/sequences all listed by name; that's so important for a big open-world guide like this, but it's a feature that's not always included in a lot of similar Game Guides.

And when you get to the bit you want...heaven. It's written extremely well with some foolproof screenshots overlaid with simple arrows and other indicators which show you the best way to achieve your given goals. This approach extends to not only the main campaign 'sequences' but also the various side quests and collectibles. It seems like every island in the game, no matter how small, comes represented here with it's own little map that offers useful hints and tips on exactly how to nab that elusive Shanty or Animus Fragment. They all appear on the in-game map, yes, but some aren't always exactly where they appear, and this book you helps net the troublesome ones. Anything you can think of in the main game is covered concisely and comprehensively. It's brilliant.

The same can also be said of the Multiplayer portion of the game which is given no less attention. Every map and game mode is explored and discussed in full detail which - as someone who's never really dabbled too much in AC's MP suite - has me tempted to give this one a go. Also, you kinda have to if you want to nab that Platinum trophy/1000GP, which is likewise something that this book assists with.

Finally, just to point out how comprehensive this book is, it really does cover EVERYTHING. I was lucky enough to grab the AC4 'Buccaneer's Edition' for PS4 and all the extra DLC islands from that purchase are detailed here like any other part of the game, as are the Aveline missions (exclusive to the PS4 edition). I found that particularly impressive. Aside from those bits though this book has you covered on whatever format you play the game on - PC, 360, PS3, Wii U, PS4 and XB1.

And then, on top of all that, there's a ton of behind-the-scenes information and concept drawings that's a joy to behold. The art design of the game is pretty fantastic in general so it's great to see some of that work printed here. There is a separate Art Book available which caters solely for this stuff if that's your kinda thing, but here it adds another Star to the Amazon rating simply for ensuring that the book's still worth looking at even after you've finished the game.

So,yeah... it's a great buy ^_^ If you're a newcomer to the franchise I'd heartily recommend it, but even for the Veterans like me it's a worthwhile read. My interest in the series was flagging following AC3, but has been rejuvenated with the open-world gameplay and Piratey stylings of AC4. This guide has ensured that I'll get the most out of the game, and it's become as indispensable to me while playing the game as the Hidden Blade is to Captain Kenway in the game itself. If you're on the fence, don't be; this is a purchase you won't regret.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Not much yo say, after a while I found the ship sailing parts a bit boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Having bought most of the previous AC guides I know what to expect. As usual the Black Flag
guide delivers with really detailed sections on everything from the campaign to the multiplayer
to extras concerning the greater AC story and future for the franchise.

Black Flag is huge and there are a ton of collectibles so it felt like out of all the AC games this
was the one where I needed the guide the most, and it did not fail in any way literally covering
EVERYTHING the game offers.

After finishing as has become tradition I turned to the back pages to read the speculation about
the story and future for the franchise. Its a great read and guide and I definitely recommend especially
for a game like Black Flag which is so huge and has so much stuff to collect and discover.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
A must have for this excellent game, the guide gives you everything u need without spoiling the game. I have used Piggyback Guides for many of my games and they always deliver. Excellent!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I found the Official Guide for AC4 indispendible. It really is for the player who either would like 100% sync or a good reference for all the collectibles, explanation for the naval battles, how to collect metal, cloth etc for your ship (cruical for advancing in the game). The picutres are clear and frequent, the walkthroughs consistent and the lists in the book for weapons, outfits, unlockables is nicely organised.

The spoilers are kept away from the walkthroughs, though there is the ability to look up more info on the game if you don't mind spoilers. The various islands are alos listed as well what animals, taverns etc you can find. Defintiely buy if you wish to cover all game points or just would like to dip in and out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)