Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2013
This takes me back to my youth, as a kid FLESH was my favorate 2000ad story.
Book 1 gives you the tale of OLD ONE EYE, the 120 year old tyrannosaur, a proper boys own adventure combining cowboys and dinosaurs with some fantastic artwork by boix and sola, great fun.
Book 2 continues the story with BIG HUNGRY the 50 ton nothosaur, the story is set at sea and has a real " pirates vs dinosaurs" feel to it, the art here is by belardinelli and is beyond outstanding,it is an example of a real master at work, each page, and each panel has some of the most beautiful linework you'll ever see.
Next up is texas, i've never read this story before so was really looking forward to it, my heart sank when i saw it, the art is really sub standard, a real amature job, it highlights just how far the standard of 2000ad has fallen since the golden age when the worlds best artists worked on it.
Texas drags my rating down from five stars to four.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
Flesh was my favourite story from the early days of 2000AD and it's good to see them reprinted in a collected edition. The first story is the best of the ones on offer with excellent artwork, however each page has been subjected to restructuring to re-shape the pages to fit a different paper format than the original. This means that there are bands of noticeably awful drawing on each page to make them taller. It's very noticeable and distracting. The second story is much the same as the first and features superb artwork from the late, great Massimo Belardinelli. This visual feast is suddenly curtailed for the last two episodes which instead have very poor artwork from Carlos Pino. I have no idea why Belardinelli didn't do the last two episodes and it means that Flesh Two ends in a disappointing manner.

The artwork for the third story looks so grim I haven't bothered with it at all. Even that is superseded by one of the short stories at the end, a reprint of "Carrion' from the 1977 annual which has the worst artwork I've ever seen in a comic.

Overall though, this is a worthy purchase. Buy it and revisit a time when 200AD was the brash new kid on the block.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
used to read as a lad ....great feeling of nostalgia,it would be great if they could bring it back in colour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
this gave me a major flashback when i opened the first page, back to the time when i would eagerly await 2000ad every week and soak up every zarjaz page that tharg the mighty would send me , great to read again, looking at the story and the artwork it all seems a bit basic now but at the time i lapped it up ( and still do), great to see it all in one volume at last
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
Bought this for my boyfriend as it's a comic from his youth. He loved it. One thing to note is that 2000AD was in black and white back then so although the cover of the book is colour the actual comic trips are black and white.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
If you are a fan of 2000AD , then you MUST have this graphic novel added to your collection. I remember first reading this from way back in 1977. Fantastic stories and awesome artwork, includes the very latest story..FLESH:TEXAS .
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Excellent service the book was delivered when they said and in condition it was advertised. The stories are great takes me back to my childhood when i used to read all my older brothers 2000ad comics. Wished we still had them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Wow, nearly forgot how great these stories were in 2000 AD comic's. A real trip down memory lane and a delight to read.

Anyone from the 70/80's will remember reading fab comics like this, happy times hey

Fast delivery from the seller.

Many thanks :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
excellent and on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here