Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2016
The book was received within two days of placing the online order. It is perfect, and I am delighted, especially as it is to be a birthday gift.
Well done to the vendor! Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Very enjoyable book with plenty of illustrations- wish I'd had the book prior to my visit! References to other properties offer further ideas for future trips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
This is a many-faceted work, written to accompany the television series of the same name.
However, it stands more than adequately on its own and anyone who has not viewed the TV programmes will be unhampered. The book is a fascinating read!

The 450 year history of Avebury Manor is vividly illuminated - as are the life and times of those who have lived within its walls.
Four periods receive particular focus - Tudor, Queen Anne, Georgian and 20th Century. The reader is introduced to the key families and personalities of each and their life-style, furniture, furnishings etc are vividly portrayed. There are photographs of articles (in other National Trust properties) that survive from each period. In addition, the processes involved in creating these are described and shown. Faithful reproductions were created using solely traditional methods and materials.

The book is beautifully presented with full-colour graphics on virtually every page.

I read it from cover-to-cover in a couple of days. I can unreservedly recommend it as well as a visit to the refurbished Manor house itself. (open every day during most of 2011 and in 2012 at times yet to be announced).
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Having enjoyed watching the TV programme and later visited Avebury Manor. This book was a fascinating insight into the restoration of a lovely country house which has been fashioned into a real living history experience. The author perpetrates a few minor historical and factual errors such as describing the Greek goddess Artemis as the goddess of wisdom, whereas she is usually regarded as goddess of the hunt, wild animals, wilderness, childbirth and virginity, the epitome of female liberty, Athena being the goddess of wisdom. However her style is very accessible and lively. The layout of the pages is attractive and the book is nicely produced on good paper. The photos illustrating different aspects of the restoration of a house where visitors are allowed such unusual freedoms as sitting on the beds and chairs, bouncing on the exercise chair, opening all the cupboards, dressing up in Tudor costume and pretending to be Henry VIII at his dining table are interesting and informative. Would make a good gift at Christmas or any other time for people interested in beautiful English country houses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
The Manor Reborn: The Transformation of Avebury Manor

This work is an excellent complement to the TV series. Although it gives the initial impression of being a "coffee table book", the content is well worth the read, whether you saw the TV series or not. It has obviously been written competently and professionally. and despite some repetition of information between various previous owners and epochs in several sections, the account flows very well. Compared with the TV series, much of the arguments and "infighting" between the various parties involved, the book is fairly neutral, and the story of the rabbits in the vegetable garden is not recounted. The hosts of the series provide introductions in the book, but subsequently they are not particularly prominent, compared with the TV series. A book to be thoroughly recommended for thos whose interests lie in this area.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
I think that this is a really lovely looking book and I really liked the history behind the people who lived there. The pictures of the refurbished rooms look really nice. One for Christmas!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Having been to Avebury Manor prior to it's transformation, I was very interested in the TV programme & then even more interested on visiting "The Manor Reborn". I was not disappointed!! I felt the book in the NT shop was rather expensive so ordered it from Amazon. It is a fascinating book comparing the manor to other houses owned by the National Trust & giving a detailed historical background to each of the eras that the house has passed through. To be honest it is worth the price that the NT shop is charging so to get the book at such an amazing price through Amazon was a real bonus. It is a book that will appeal to all those who like me love history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
I was very interested in the TV programme and the book lived up to expectations as both my husband and I are into craft activities.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Great companion to the series. Could have done with more pics of Paul Martin but I really enjoyed it and loved the extra details.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)