Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
This is a really excellent little book, and to my surprise contains a lot more than simply the details of the neurological examination technique.
There is a detailed step-by-step guide to examination including photographs, diagrams and 'clinical insight' boxes. It covers the upper limb and lower limb seperately, as well as cranial nerves, gait and autonomic nervous system. What I found useful also were two small guides at the end on modifying the examination to a stroke patient and a coma patient.
There is also a really useful section on taking a neurological history, as well as how to present a neurological patient to seniors/colleagues.
Finally each section begins with an anatomy and physiology review to remind you of the basics, which is something I did not expect this book to include and is an invaluable bonus.
Lightweight and perfectly sized, I can definitely see myself carrying this round on the wards. Much prefer this smaller little book to bigger textbooks which are daunting to pick up and sift through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
This little book has been great during my neurology placement. It has concise explanations, it features key words in bold making it easy to look for the section you want. As an example, the diagrams are really helpful for getting your head around what you are testing in power and tables condense learning which nerves supply which muscle.
It also has extra boxes of “clinical insight” which add more information about specific topics.
It is the perfect level for clinical placements in particular due to its inclusion of differential diagnosis, how to present, and what the findings of the neurological exam mean.

Good value for money considering the ease of reading and being a very handy size for taking into clinic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Used this book to prepare for my 3rd year clinical OSCEs this year and it was great. Very detailed info on every aspect of the examiantions, including why we do each step and some common pathology that we may see. The clinical insight boxes are really useful, also the fact that there are reviews of anatomy and physiology means that you can refresh important information from previous years in order to get the most from the examination. Not too big and easy to read, great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
This handy book has been a great resource during general and specialty specific attachments. I found it extremely useful as study material for my MRCP PACES exam and block attachment on a neurology firm.
A must have for budding physicians providing detailed tips and description!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Excellent little pocket book for learning about neurology and the neurological examination. It is written in a friendly narrative which makes it easy to read all the way through and to refer to at a glance. Not only does it outline all aspects of the neurological examination, but it also gives loads of extra information and "clinical insight" into a variety of neurological conditions (including the rare eponymous syndromes which make neurology interesting!). It assumes a basic knowledge of neuro-anatomy so is appropriate for senior medical students and doctors, including specialist trainees. It would also be excellent for anyone starting a neurology job or student placement as it gives practical advice regarding presenting and referring patients on the wards. I also really liked the "Equipment" list for each part of the examination which includes handy tips for busy doctors including using your smartphone for Ishihara plates!

I am using it to study for my PACES and will be relying on this as my main text for neurology examination.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I used this book for PACES revision. I have always struggled with neurology but this book complete with useful illustrations and summary boxes of key points helped demistify it! Clear explanations. Useful for explaining examination techniques.

I think it would be useful for undergraduates, those working in a neuro placement, as well as trainees studying for their membership.

Handy size means its easy to carry around!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Thanks for the great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Brilliant little book!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here