Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2013
The book has some nice photographs; a nice idea for the amateur that the photos are categorised by colour. Good size for carrying with you. However, could only give it three stars as we found lots of flowers in the French Alps that weren't in the book. We will be looking for another book as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
First class, especially because it is written in English! This was a present for my son and daughter-in-law who have a flat in Switzerland but every similar guide obtainable there in written in German.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
A pocket guide that really does fit in your pocket. Excellent colour photographs and keys combine with short texts help you to identify mountain flowers in Europe. Previous guides in English relied on paintings but for me the photographs in this guide were more helpful and this book is much lighter to carry on a mountain walk.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
A total disappointment. Of little use, if any, to beginners, amateur botanists or specialists. The selection of simply 500 species is very poor and few using this book will ever find the flower they are looking at. The text is limited, the photos are all of very poor quality. To identify any flower requires far more and better than this book has to offer. Its single good feature is its binding but the book has nothing else of merit. And it is expensive! This book is available on the french Amazon website at 50% of the UK price!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
This is a great book for alpine flower lovers. I would recommend it and have given a copy to both my mother and sister!
Each plant has a small description and colour photo. Is also ideal size to take walking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
A fabulous little book. Sensibly sized to allow for easy use whilst hiking, yet still containing a great range information. Clear colur images throughout. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Bought after I had come back from walking in Austria and the Dolomites in July 2013. Replaced a basic flower guide , which did not have sufficient information to satisfy the glorious variety of wild flowers on display. The book size is perfect for putting in your pocket whilst walking, clear illustrations and explanations. Can't wait to go again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
This really is the best book for identifying alpines for the interested non-specialist. It is easy to carry and a comprehensive work rather than the "selected highlights" of other guides.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
It is clear and concise, photos are excellent. Good intro but not too much bla bla so as to keep it small and light for a pocket or a rucksack. very happy with this product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
An ideal pocket book for identifying flowers in the mountains. The larger scale one I have weighs 5kgs!, which makes it hard to carry about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)