Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
15
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2016
There is very little content in this book that is of real use beyond a range of simple diagrams that many people will already be familiar with.
I was expecting a lot more. There is no use of colour at all in the book and the accompanying text is limited and feels anecdotal.
Actually I was surprised this made it in to print. Better resources out there
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
This book really is a visual problem solver that is purposefully short on words.
Each section of the book is clear and concise, it will allow you to read in a single sitting and understand quickly what you are being shown.
Examples appear obvious, but lend themselves to other scenarios with minimal creative thinking.
Within a week I've used some of these.

A bargain of a book, but do expect a brief reference journal rather than a management bible.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2014
This is a very helpful little book. It packs a lot into its few words and limited pages. It shows well how certain shapes convey certain relationships. Basically it's a meditation on similarity/difference/overlap. Do you emphasise similarity or difference? Do you need to get away from the old? Have you a clear goal in mind. Are things closer together or further apart? Do certain things need to come closer together? Diagrams allow us to illustrate such thoughts graphically and easily.

Each diagram has a use- and can be adapted to multiple settings. The author describes scenarios mainly from a business setting but they can be adapted to other settings easily- fundamentally this is a book about structures and representations of thought- and the similarities of these structures across disciplines and specialities is more remarkable than the differences.

The Personal Motivation Triangle (10) is more easily summarised as satisfaction, salary and support. All triangular descriptions collapse into instability- the three concepts in them can never all be fully achieved at once- one is played off against another in any scenario. We have perpetrator-victim-rescuer triangles in psychology (Drama Triangle from transactional analysis), thesis-antithesis-synthesis in philosophy (largely from Hegel- but with lineage back to Aristotle) prosecutors-defenders-judges in courtrooms, the doctor-thepatient- and the illness in medicine (from Michael Balint) The instability of the triangle is what actually creates the interest in the scenario.

This is a very useful and sensible book, and the pictures within it can be adapted to many settings. I wonder if the author could improve it by describing some examples from differen settings- to emphasise the similarities in human thought patterns across disciplines. We think along certain mind lines- and diagrams allow us to show the direction of these mind lines across our mental and physical time and space.

Overall this is avery helpful book, that contains more than you would expect within 116 pages. The models given are useful, and readily adaptable into many contexts of work and life.

I'll expect better diagrams and clarity form people who use this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2015
Some useful types of diagram to help prove your point. Quite a small and concise book though, so isn't comprehensive.
If you need to explain ideas visually, you might also find a book like 'Back of the napkin" by Dan Roam useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
The Diagrams Book is an excellent resource for anyone who needs to use drawings, figures and yes, diagrams, to explain concepts to others. I've been using it to help illustrate some parts of my PhD thesis, but I could equally have used it in my previous lives in finance and commerce. It's straightforward, and jargon-free, and full of ideas for diagrams which illuminate rather than diagrams which complicate. I recommend it wholeheartedly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
This is a truly excellent book. It contains lots of diagrams you may have come across before (useful as a reminder), and loads you won't have done. I was initially doubtful that such as small book could be worth the purchase price, but at a thousand words per page, it was well worth it ;-).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
This is a wonderful book. I run a sales and marketing consultancy and refer to this book time and time again and recommended it to all my clients.

Kevin has a knack for condensing complex and useful content and making it accessible and enjoyable.

Can't wait for his next book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
This is a really great book and so useful in the setting of presentations, reports and many other business settings
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really wanted to like this book. I do like the way it's laid out, and each diagram is well explained, but there is nowhere near enough depth or breadth.

The problem is that the diagrams, and the concepts they convey, are very limited. Some of them, frankly, are so shallow that they're closer to clipart than conceptual diagrams. All of them are from a very narrow domain of marketing or basic business strategy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Very interesting - I wished it provided a little more depth but a great into and quick read which allows you to research more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)