Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£135.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2017
Just finished the book. Very interesting and everything I was expecting. The collection of studio facilities and experience gathered in this book is a must have for anyone working in the area. A word for the customer service that deserves a plus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Nice book, large formate. But it shows older facilities, acoustic made in the 80's and 90's. Nothing break thru what is used today. Lot of problems from room dimensions not solved. It shows how studio were built yes but as I said before not in today's world.
But still it's a good book to have. But for those who think about buying that book and copy a studio design .... forget it ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Just received this amazing and unique book. Absolutely stunned at the professional quality and presentation. The authors are unbelievably talented and it was a sad day for Recording Studio Design when these two decided to retire from the business in 2011. They have given us a lasting gift of their work in photographs and designs with this book and words can't express how delighted I am that they did. Good luck both in your new careers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
A truly wonderful book. Although the synopsis might lead one to think it was going to be too specialist for other than musicians and `sound fanatics', it offers an insight into a world behind the music and film industries that few of us will experience, or will even have considered. As a retired engineer - and sometime design draughtsman - the plans, drawings, text and photos stand out to me as the work of real professionals. The accompanying graphics and high printing quality also surely qualify The Book as a piece of art in its own right.

As a record of a small company's initiative, creativity, and service to its clientele, it could also provide an inspirational source for young people studying or starting out on an independent career in many fields. To the target audience suggested by other reviewers could be added educators, students and practitioners in building construction, interior design, and associated engineering functions. Photography and graphic design also occur to me, and not least, anyone who is interested in `what goes on behind the scenes'.

On the downside, although Adrian Kerridge is unstinting in his praise in the Foreword, one might have expected a little more `client input', but perhaps the authors are saving that for a 2nd edition? OK, the book is relatively pricey and likely to be at or above the top end of the average student's budget, but Hey, isn't that what grand-dads are for - especially at Christmas?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
I had the very good fortune of enjoying the services of Roger D'Arcy & Hugh Flynn while running the audio department of a major London film & television post production company. The breadth and value of what I learnt during that time cannot be overstated and has been put to use on innumerable subsequent occasions, for which I'm very grateful.

The unparalleled scale of their knowledge, insight, experience & professionalism has translated into print exceptionally well in the form of RA: THE BOOK.
It's a huge & beautiful tome containing a truly vast array of pictures, plans & information. This takes the form of case studies of many of their studios from all over the world; some famous, some private, all instantly recognisable and includes sections on base building preparation, architecture, design, acoustics, treatment, isolation, air-con, electrics & cabling and lighting & interior design - in other words every aspect of recording studio design and construction, right down to exact materials, dimensions, densities etc.

The complex & closely guarded secrets of the "dark art" of professional audio studio design & building is finally available for us all in an informative, accessible and highly enjoyable format.

There are many books on studio design & construction, but having personally experienced the inspiration, joy & satisfaction of being involved in the real-life process and more importantly, actually using many of Recording Architecture's studios, I can confidently recommend this as the definitive book on studio design from the definitive studio designers. It's a fantastic piece of work and offers essential & enlightening reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is a Masterclass for designers and makers in any field. Form and function, style and content and not least, beauty, seamlessly bonded together over a twenty-four year trajectory and driven by ruthless clarity of technical purpose. (Not to mention the amount of sheer physical graft.)This book says to us all YOU can do it. Next time inspiration flags I'll know where to turn. Magnificent. Thank you RA.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Everything needed to brief an architect about the mandatory requirements of recording studio design and planning , and to explain specialist acoustic construction techniques to a builder is contained in this book. Since buying my copy, I have had a studio built using details from the book and I am exceptionally pleased with the result. I saved a lot of money by not employing any acoustic consultants. The 5 chapters that cover the specifics of commercial, private, post production, mastering and educational recording studios were very useful to me. I would have spent far too much money on unnecessary sound isolation if I had gone with the acoustic advice I had read on the various pro audio forums. The acoustic treatments detailed in this book, from a cost and construction point of view, are a lot more efficient and elegant than I have seen elsewhere. There is a section of the book called work stages, and this gives a lot of detail about sound isolation, acoustic treatments, studio furniture, electrical power requirements, ventilation/air-conditioning etc. The book is well written and the photography is excellent. You need to see this book for yourself to do it justice. Worth buying even if you have an interest in recording studios and are not going to build one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
Acquiring `RA-The Book' has been a priority for me. I do have to declare an interest, in that Roger D'Arcy is the son of a long time friend. That said, with a long interest in music and architecture, albeit from a layman's point of view, and a personal interest in Roger's achievements in studio design, publication was eagerly awaited. I was certainly not disappointed. `The Book' is a remarkable achievement in its own right.

Having spent most of my own lifetime developing and running a medium sized retail business marrying supermarket activity with motor fuel retail sales, which has been variously described as `adventurous' and `pioneering' for its time, I found many parallels with Recording Architecture's approach and achievements, not least in that we both attracted `global interest'. I have also benefited from the support and friendship of many architects of a `conventional nature' and consider that I have developed `an eye' for good design.

As in any pioneering type of activity, having learned the basic rules of one's, profession, any future knowledge gained is largely self-taught from the many various clients one is called upon to work for and therefore, especially for any would be student of such a closely defined career, this book, this absolute A-Z of the recording world is a must. It will surely eventually become a `basic tool' of all teaching establishments, colleges and universities following this path or other related disciplines.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
A beautifully illustrated and detailed state of the art volume of Recording Architecture's last 20 years of work and achievements in studio design in the music industry since the Company's inception in 1987

Recording Architecture's ethos is firmly committed to an architectural aesthetic without losing sight of acoustic and engineering requirements of their client base

The Book contains many working drawings and illustrations, technical data and stunning photographs from the earliest conceived ideas right through to realisation and installation of the final end product.

A seminal work containing considered and interesting input from Roger D'arcy and other professionals within the industry

A must have for any serious student of studio architecture and acoustic engineering and it is also a fascinating insight into the world of studio design for the layman
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
Technical books are invariable long on content, short on style and written from a theoretical, rather than a practical, viewpoint. On the other hand, large and stylish books are almost exclusively full of excellent photographs but lacking anything in the way of information. `RA The Book' proves that it is possible to produce a large and stylish book which combines excellent and readable technical content (including sketches and finished drawings) with superb photographs. The book can be enjoyed both as a clear and informative technical manual and as a beautifully photographed review of studio design. It is all here, and it is hard to imagine that anyone will ever need another book on studio design.

It is also fascinating to follow the development RA's work from the early days through to the present. A remarkable list of clients and countries and an enormous breadth of design from small studios, to national broadcasting organisations, to Bollywood, to say nothing of the Black Box range of acoustic panels and speaker stands.

The only thing that is missing is the back story to the studio designs, and some anecdotes about the (undoubtedly colourful) characters involved - another book in there somewhere?

A suitable monument to 20 years at the very top of a highly competitive global industry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)