Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
59
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2009
OVERVIEW
This book is truly superb! Having been badly 'burned' by believing reviews and purchasing Michael Freeman's 'Digital SLR Handbook' which has *no detail* on exposure at all I took a lot of time and care to select a good book on exposure - as this is the 'beating heart' of potography.

As it lacks the 'look inside' feature of it's two main rivals I'll start with an overview of content and then move on to comparative reviews with these two 'rival' publications:

BOOK CONTENTS
Quite small sized, well bound and sturdy cover.

Introduction (clear, simple, 5 pages)
1 - The Baics Of Exposure (explains the triangle, good tips and clear explanations) p13-68
2 - Exposure In Practice (different scenarios with tips and help e.g. architecture, people, close-up) p69-100
3 - Ambient Light (Direction, silhouette, white balance) p101-120
4 - Flash Light (different settings, front-and-rear curtain etc) p121-144
5 - Filters (short and good into to key filters e.g. ND and polarising) p145-163
6 - Exposure in Digital Darkrooms (Brief photoshop tools overview and usage e.g. curves, dodge-and-burn, HDR intro and printing) p163-167
Glossary
Useful Websites
Index

That's the summary of contents - all of which is laid out in clear double-page speads with lcear text, helpful tips and lots of (but not too many) photos illustrating each point.

IN COMPARISON WITH OTHER BOOKS ON EXPOSURE
Having taken time to read and look at its two main rivals - Bryan Peterson's 'Understanding Exposure' and Peter Cope's 'Digital Photographer's Guide to Exposure' I feel I can compare this book to them with some confidence.

By comparison with Peterson's book 'Understanding Exposure' this is much more up-to-date and focused on digital SLR's rather than a hybrid of film and digital. More importantly though Ross Hoddinott's style is clear, simple, warm and jargon-free which compares to the jarring jokes, 'humour' and patronisingly simplistic terms Peterson's uses.

By comparison with the (also-excellent) book by Peter Cope (Digital Photographer's Guide to Exposure) I think this book has a few key advantages. It's binding is sturdy and the size is better for carrying around with you in a camera bag. Also the photo's are by Ross, which limits the style and subject matter a little (though he still has great illustratons and examples for the in practice section) however the REAL advantage and differentiator is the amount of information included with each picture. Not only are all the details of exposure settings included for *every picture* but also there are a lot of very useful juxtapositons of the same subject with two different settings showing the different effects and illustrating the differences or at times really emphasising that these are *effects* not 'right and wrong'.

IN SUMMARY:
A great book and having taken a LONG time to coose a good exposure book I'm really happy with this one which is up-to-date, clear, jargon-free and has key advantages over its rivals. I'd highly recommend this book, mastering exposure is the 'beating heart' of digital photography and if you're a new DSLR owner I'd say it's a 'must buy' and for experienced DSLR users this book will have some useful information: most importantly it will inspire you to take pictures and learn.
55 Comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2008
I have been taking photographs since the 1960's and have always had a lot of questions I should have asked years ago about 'exposure' and everything it relates to. I picked this book up in Waterstones Exeter (sorry Amazon) a couple of days before Christmas and by Boxing Day I had read it and 'mopped up' on all the niggly bits which I'd never quite understood before - so basic but so essential. I would recommend that anyone starting out in digital photography treats this great and so easily understood book as a definite 'must read'. I have just ordered one for my nephew Tom who is just starting on his own photographic journey - I know it will do him well.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 December 2008
At first glance, this might seem a little pricey for a small paperback. However, the flap and thick card cover give this book a sturdy feel and once you really get inside, the knowledge is worth its weight in gold. The author has a wonderful way of putting his message across and is a very effective teacher. I have certainly learned an awful lot in this book that I hope to put into practice. I have struggled with the concept of exposure, so I am one of the target audience readers for this book.

Ross states that exposure sorts the hobby photographer from the professional. Knowing that even some enthusiasts find difficulty with what seems like a complex subject, Ross has tackled exposure step by step to unravel the mysteries.

Ross enables the reader to understand the basics and how to apply them to achieve creative results. Each chapter is well illustrated with examples. He shows how lifeless a wrong exposure can look and how to bring your photos to life by getting the exposure right. He looks at under and over exposure and their effects, uses and how to correct them.

He shows you how to work with light and how to use flash effectively. He also demonstrates the use of digital filters and polarizers. He finishes by showing how to enhance your photos in software programs. Ross Hoddinott says exposure is 'the heartbeat of photography' and Ross certainly has his finger on the pulse. These professional hints and tips from are easy to understand. This is a handy, practical and invaluable guide to digital exposure.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
I only purchased this book a few days ago, and I have to say it's an excellent read. Unlike other books of this style there are no wasted pages on personal satire, just brief two and at times three page chapters on subjects from picture styles to metering from dynamic ranges to exposure compensation. It is impossible in this review to list every chapter but this is the perfect handbook for any digital SLR owner, whether a beginner or a professional. Bang up to date and in every day language that most DSLR owners will understand. Ross Hoddinott is without doubt a superb photographer and anyone already familiar with his photographs, critiques and explanations from some of the monthly Photography magazine publications will recognise his style is replicated within this book. Having met Ross recently on a photographic workshop I know his integrity and attention to detail is second to none within the profession and this is reflected within this book. A very practical sized hand book which fits snuggly into my camera bag, it will not be too big to fit in the glove box of the car either. A very useful reference book to draw on for years to come. It cuts to the chase and is not an excuse to show off personal pictures,(although they are good) the pictures merely demonstrate the subject of each chapter and are totally relevant to the text. I have wasted twice the purchase fees on lesser books and regretted it. But not this one, this is top drawer!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2008
I was already looking at another book called Exposure when i noticed that this book hadn't been released at the time and figured i'd order it knowing that it would be more up to date. I only started reading it last night but already feel like i have already learnt a few things. The book explains everything to do with exposure and in a very simple and clear way which is great especially if you are like me and still at the beginner / intermediate level of knowledge and skill. I also like the way that the photo's in the book tell you what camera the shot was taken with along with aperture and focal length etc something that i first saw in Scott Kelby's books.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
This book is written to the usual high standard that you would expect from Ross Hoddinott. He explains everything in plain English that makes it very easy to understand. Each subject is covered in great detail and you feel that someone has been talking to you as a friend and you learn more easily. I have bought all his books and have not been disappointed with any of them.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
This book is a must if you are serious about developing your photography technique. The style builds on from Ross's other publications, with the format being informative, encouraging and enlightening. This book, like his others, gives the reader an immediate 'surge' of creativity and desire to reach for the camera bag! The size is particularly useful as it can easily be placed into a bag and read 'on the go', whilst also being laid out in a fluid and informative manner for detailed reading. The images continue to prove that Ross is an outstanding photographer, who as ever, is keen to see others develop their technique.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
I bought this book because, like a surprisingly large number of people, I too had taken up Photography in my teens (back many years ago when it was film), but gave up a few years later due to never getting the knack of correctly exposing my shots.

Recently (scroll on 20years) however I decided to purchase a dSLR and soon realised the massive benefits with Digital Photography whereby one's exposure mistakes could be seen immediately. If a picture came out poorly exposed, no problem. Another shot, with different exposure settings could quickly be taken to try to resolve the problem.....

But that's kind of okay if you're working with static objects where you can take half a dozen shots all at differing exposures (and you've got all day) but even so still too hit and miss for my liking.

And where this luxury isn't available, to correctly expose a lot of my shots would boil down to luck most of the time. Which would not be good enough.

No, I knew I needed a book on Exposure.

After MUCH deliberation on Amazon, I boiled it down to 2, this one and "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson.

I thought (judging by the reviews each one got) that this would be the one to go for......

I WAS WRONG !!

Yes, it's a nifty little size, and yes, in it the pictures are all very nice, BUT;

If your aim is to be able to correctly assess the lighting conditions, make your decisions based on your assessment of what's going on with that light and what your meter is telling you and to be able to choose your exposure and take a picture ONCE or TWICE at the most AND FOR IT TO BE CORRECTLY EXPOSED (not 10 or so pictures, all at differing Aperture/shutter/ISO settings hoping that one might turn out okay) then THIS IS NOT YOUR BOOK.

You'll be wanting "Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson".

Having said all that, this one didn't cost the earth so therefore it's not the end of the world, but I can't recommend it really. The level of the book is aimed way too low for those that KNOW that Exposure is their problem and needs to be solved.

The knowledge within this book is aimed at those who wouldn't know that exposure isn't the problem with their picturetaking.

Therefore, I can only imagine that where this book will be a hit, is as a Christmas or Birthday present for someone who has recently taken up Photography, bought themselves a dSLR and hasn't got a clue how to use it really. Oh, and the person buying/giving the book as the present would need to be wise enough about photography. A Photographer perhaps !

So, no Nuggets in this book, NOR any Ah-ha moments for me !

Trust me.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
Having been trying to get my head around the principles of exposure and having bought many books on digital photography, this is the book that simply answered all my questions, a must for anyone starting out on the digital journey.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
While being involved with photography for many years, through film and now digital, I found this book well laid out and very easy to follow.

I have read it all the way through and was not disappointed. It covers the basics of taking photographs, something that beginners seem to think they can do without, then explores other aspects of modern cameras right through to the finished product using your computer.

The emphasis is on using a DSLR camera, but that may just make you think whether now is the right time to upgrade.

If you apply everything that is contained in this book, you will take better pictures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse