Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Drake Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
Although thoroughly comprehensive, the Canon manual supplied with this camera is by no means user-friendly. David Taylor covers the issues very much from a practical stance - he even manages to make the brilliant but complex new focusing options welcoming rather than a veiled threat.

Excellent publication quality - it doesn't become 'dog-eared' with continous reference (it's even a handy size/shape!), with clear diagrams and photographs to demonstrate the issues.

I have purchased three manuals in my quest to understand the intricasies of this brilliant camera, this one is the best.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
These extended guides go so much further than the instruction booklets that come with the camera when new, always assuming that you get an actual booklet - so often it's only available online!

With a camera that incorporates loads of technology, it's really helpful to be able to read how to make the most of certain aspects of it from someone who has actually used the camera in question. Well illustrated in colour with loads of hints and tips along the way, the guide really helps you understand everything about your camera and its numerous controls.

If you've acquired your camera second or third hand and there's no instruction booklet, then the appropriate Extended Guide is the thing to buy. I can't recommend it highly enough .. I always buy one with each new camera I purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I got this as it was recommended. I usually get the Magic Lantern books but couldn't find one for the 5D mark 3. This isn't as detailed as the Magic Lantern guides usually are, and not so many reviewer tips but still it explains what each function does instead of just how to programme it and there are some tips. Nice bag sized and it will fit into my rucksack.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I think this book, as a very early release when the camera was launched, is simply an alternative to the manual and it is undoubtedly better but not something I would pay for again
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Having fallen foul of the canon user manuals previously, I bought the equivalent guide for my 50D camera, so, when I upgraded to the 5D, had no hesitation in buying the guide. It has, so far, lived up to expectations and is a constant companion in my bag, whilst the canon manual stays at home! Informative whilst explaining how the settings are set, and very easy to follow.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This expanded guide is well made with high quality paper and print, its size is suitable for fitting in your pocket so importantly you can carry it with you as you get to know your camera. Whilst it is clear and logically laid out, I felt it lacked passion or enthusiasm, it is a little dry. Ultimately it does not offer any more information than is already in the original handbook, however being larger and of higher quality print, it is much clearer to read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Excellent Handbook much easier than camera handbook to understand and use.
Opens up the Cameras capabilities and makes pleasant reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
As a reference its ok. I find my self reading the book then going on line for an explanation of why I would use such a setting, or wouldn't use such a setting.
The book has been put together well and is better than the manual, I just feel there is something missing that could have been shared. Rather than you can find this setting here. And if you go here you can find this setting.

If you go to [...] he has a few good explanations on the 5Diii
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This guide expands the Canon guide and is clear and helpful giving additional explanation on the camera's controls. It is a handy size, suitable to pack for your holiday. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
A good book with detail that is easy to follow, which has really helped my Camera skills with the Cannon 5D mark 3
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)