Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 June 2012
Knightsbridge Golf School are Messrs D.J. Wilkinson, Steve Gould, Dave Lamplough, Phil Talbot (demonstrator in the book), and previously, Andy Pharro. They are all wonderful players and instructors with utmost passion for teaching and deep understanding of golf swing based on the method developed by late Leslie King. I could equate learning golf swing the Knightsbridge way to quest for the Holy Grail. Enlightening, hard going at times and richly rewarding, which is exactly how I'd describe this book written by D.J. Wilkinson and Steve Gould.

Following in the footsteps of authors' previous books, The Swing Factory and Golf Delusion, Golf's Golden Rule revisits familiar territory of building a swing by achieving key positions, but this time concentrates on the ultimate moment of truth - the impact. Though largely a consequence of what had gone before in the swing, the impact and precise positions and movements that lead to it are described in great detail and require reader's full attention.

The book is well structured, style of writing is both engaging and entertaining while photographs are clear, illustrative and of high quality. There are also original and practical exercises to help achieve pro-like impact such as swinging a frying pan or swinging within the door frame with a club handle.

A minor criticism might be slightly repetitive nature of the book, key ideas being reiterated in words and pictures. However, for a serious student of the game this can only be welcoming and Steve and Dave make no apologies about it.
Golf's Golden Rule is definitive work of D.J. Wilkinson and Steve Gould and distillation of their huge knowledge and the School's decades worth of teaching.
I wholeheartedly recommend this book to any golfer intent on building a great swing and seeing major improvements in their game and scores.
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2012
I have dozens of golf books and read many others borrowed from libraries and friends, but this is the best yet.
It's a bonus that it is beautifully presented but the explanation of the golf swing and how to produce an effective strike is clear and precise.
It describes the role of the right hand and how to use (and not use) it in the hitting area in a way that I have not read before.
Use this book in conjunction with the free videos available on their website and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2012
A very good read, the "golden rule" is actually 2 rules. First, what is the correct hand action to be used in the take away. When you read this section it is genuinely illuminating. The second golden rule is the correct sequencing in the downswing to consistently apply a square compression to the golf ball at impact.
It is a beautifully written book, with repeatable drills that you can practice at home. The "doorway" drills are brilliant.
Don't forget golden rule three.....buy the book!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2012
This is an instruction book which makes sense. Looking at the top pros play, it is clear that no two swings are the same - Golf's Golden Rule explains why certain aspects of the swing are key to all golfers and this makes sense. The concepts are clearly set out and easily understandable. There is much in this book for golfers of all abilities - I highly recommend it......
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2012
Golf's Golden Rule is a high quality book that looks as if it would be more at home on the coffee table than one that should be constantly referenced. However, if you are seeking to improve your golf, then this book is a must. I own over 700 golf books, but none of them go into detail on the impact zone and clubhead release the way this one does. It is amply illustrated with accompanying videos that make it easy to learn how to execute the all important impact zone. By following the simple steps outlined in the book I have noticed a dramatic change in my ball striking, after just a few weeks. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2012
The Knightsbridge Golf School has been teaching idiots like me since 1951. In an ultra competitive business you only last that long if your theories and practice are sound.

Steve Gould and DJ Wilkinson have continued and refined the good work Leslie King started all those years ago. Their passion and commitment to teaching golf shines through in their new book in which they show you what to do and how to do it and what not to do and how not to do it. And their methods work. They certainly have for me.

There is only one question you need to ask yourself before buying Golf's Golden Rule - is it going to help my golf game? The answer is a resounding YES!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2013
I've got all three books from these authors and in my humble opinion these are the best instruction books out there that deal with golf swing; excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2012
having read numerous books on the golf swing,I would say this one really focused my mind on what I am trying to achieve rather than generalities that most books do. Beautifully produced and written with clear and precise instruction aided by good photography.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2012
The book is straightforward to use and understand and breaks the swing down to simple movements with the objective of bringing the club back to the core impact zone with the highest probability of squaring the face at impact. This is the key movement in golf. The instructional videos are very helpful as well demonstrating common errors whilst contrasting with the correct movement. Very pleased with the book and has brought back memories from my days in Scotland being taught by my father, a scratch player, when he re-iterated the 'hitting zone' in tuition.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2012
I have only had this book a few days, and it has already changed the way I think about golf, focusing on how to actually hit the ball! It sounds so obvious, and the wonderful instructions in this book make it seem easy. There are really detailed step-by-step instructions with clear photographs which are easy to follow, quite different to anything I''ve seen before. As well as being instructive, this is also a beautifully presented book with an eye-catching cover and lovely photographs. It has a new, fresh feel about it, is really well laid out and printed on good quality paper so would make a great present, although if you are a golfer you would definitely want to keep this for yourself!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)