Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2013
I was absolutely blown away when I received this mammoth book in the mail. Huge A4 size hardcover book, filled with everything you need to know about world's biggest tennis tournament; Wimbledon.

Delving from the inception of the game when it was known as lawn tennis, chronically advancing to the 2012 Olympics in bite-sized chapters, this is the book on tennis you need to pick up.

For the price of 20 pounds, you cannot go wrong with this epic coffee table book and it will give me something to read during the actual tournament.

Text is easy to read, images look fantastic and everything feels (and smells) of high quality! Highly recommended for the tennis fan!

The only downside is that we aren't living in the Harry Potter world where the highlights could be shown through video clips but hey, nothing a good YouTube search can't fix!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
An excellent History, placing Wimbledon into its Historical context. A 'Coffee Table' book to 'dip into' at random. For any Wimbledon enthusiast, it is a 'must'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This is an amazing book to have. I have a copy of the first edition, published back in 2001/2, so wanted to get this updated version. I'd like to hope that Amazon will soon stock the accompanying volume that contains the results from all of the championship (which were previously published in the back of the main book)?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
The book is OK.
Nice hard cover and p,enty of pictures, but no effort was put into making it readable: it's a hard graft wading through laborious pages of dry history with no touch of any wit...just pages of plain monotonia - I would have done a much better job!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
this is a comprehensive account of the greatest tennis tournament in the world all the greatest players are covered and so are the changes in the game over the years. a must for all tennis fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Well packed. Beautiful Book/fantastic value. I have a previous Wimbledon history book which I bought in 1986 - 100 years of Wimbledon so its nice to have a up to date one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Historically fascinating voluminous collection that will have you engrossed for days! Highly recommend and defy anyone who doesn't find this astonishingly brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
can not complain one bit it arrived on time and for the book it is when it says history on the cover believe you me it is the complete history from cover to cover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
This was purchased as a birthday present and the recipient is over the moon with it. Was posted promptly and received before the due by date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Wonderful large presentation tome with all you want to know about wonderful Wimbledon! Lots of reading, great illos, everything....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)