Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2017
For any United fan this book provides some great glimpses of a special time in the club’s history. As a fan of the era, it is a treasure. The interviews are candid and insightful, particularly in comparison to those from today’s media-trained footballers. The characters behind that time of flowing football leap out. I was struck by how much they enjoyed playing in what were largely trophy-less times; almost without exception they point to their time at United as one of the most enjoyable of their lives. I had forgotten what a key part Sammy McIlroy had to play in it all. I didn’t know Lou Macari was such a joker. What would have happened if the “Doc” had stayed? The memory banks began to stir.
If I have a complaint it is the lack of an index to help delve back into the book again and again, but it is a small gripe. One last point: initially I wished Andy Mitten had not included the photos of the players as the middle-aged men they have become, jarring as these images did with the those in my memory of fleet-footed young men in the 1970s. But in the end they were in there. This is who they are and it does not diminish what they did nor the pleasure we had in watching them kick a ball around a pitch for a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
great read great follow up to United in the 80s,Andy mitten is a great writer, and gives us a fantastic insight into Man Utd and the players in the 70s, a must for United fans...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I really enjoyed Andy's book on United in the 80's and was looking forward to this book from what was United's leanest period trophy wise since the War. I was only a kid during the seventies but i remember the 79 Cup final still aged 8 when we got back to 2-2 against Arsenal and then lost in the final minutes.

This is the same format as previous books with interviews with big and fringe players from the time( Gordon Hill/Lou Macari/Joe Jordan/The Doc etc) and their memories of games/managers. Really good read if your a red and want to know more about a period when United were relegated, had a number of Managers but still reached 3 FA Cup Finals wining one against Liverpool denying them the Treble. I believe Andy is doing on a book on the 60's -cant wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Loved this. Brought back a lot of memories of those days - we didn't win many trophies back then but what a roller-coaster. The '70s teams weren't among United's most successful but they'd rank along with all the others for excitement. (Some matches I remember: '71 Chelsea 3-2, West Ham 4-2, South'pton 5-2; '74 Burnley 3-2, Sunderland 3-2; '75 Sheff Utd 5-1; '76 Wolves 3-2, Leeds 3-2, Derby 2-0, Newcastle 4-3, Ajax 2-0, Newcastle 7-2; '77 Liverpool 2-1, Porto 5-2, Everton 6-2; 79 Liverpool 2-2, Arsenal 2-3). The author has the confidence of the players (Macari, Jordan, McIlroy, etc) and so is able to get their inside views.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I am a great devotee of Andy Mitten's books, and this is undoubtedly one of his best. It follows my fave United era, the Reds under Docherty, which, after 1974, was simply enthralling. If you want to view some golden moments of his team, go to Youtube, but this book is the real story behind that era told in interview form by the players. Andy writes each one in that brilliant syle that you could well be sitting alongside him, as each player reveals his own story. Thank you Andy once again. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
This is the 3rd book which covers the 70s @ OT. The Previous Two Cover The 80S & 90S Which Are both equally as brillant, Some great interviews in this book from Martin Buchan & Tommy Doc, Andy Mitten Take Bow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
It is always good to look at things that go on behind the scenes in football. Andy Mitten books are a must for Man United fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Great book, a "must" for every Manchester United supporter and a reference for analysts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Great to read stuff from players who have not written an autobiography. A must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
quality item about the best times to be a red.thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here