Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2011
Pablo Fernandez tells it how it is, in an engaging, often amusing, and equally often moving way. I laughed and cried, and found the book hard to put down. I found the author's personal journey fascinating, and I'm just a reader with a general interest in adoption issues. For anyone, particularly a gay man or couple, currently going through the process of being approved as an adopter, or considering doing so, or for professionals involved in the process, it would be of great interest and relevance. The author's honesty in describing his emotional highs and lows and the frustrations and delights along the way, and the incredible commitment of this couple who clearly have so much to offer a child, make this book a special and worthwhile read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2016
My husband and I have just embarked on our own adoption journey and this was on the recommended reading list. The book arrived and I could not put it down. This is an honest, real and moving read that simply tells Pablo and Mike's experience as it was. I laughed and I cried, but most of all I felt excited about the journey we are taking, even if it is still a little daunting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
A fantastic, honest and heart warming true account of a gay couple's journey to starting their own family via the contemporary UK adoption process. This book gives a genuine insight into a couple's experience of adoption, from early contemplative stages, right through to meeting their son for the first time. It describes a process that despite changes in the law, still challenges and arguably discriminates against gay and lesbian potential adopters.

The account reveals the emotions, feelings, the endless questioning, bureaucracy and heartache that the couple face but ultimately ends with their joy and happiness when bringing their son home. It also reveals how the Social Workers involved gather momentum and positivity from supporting the couple along their way, which is certainly reassuring.

A must read for all prospective adopters (gay or straight) and the professionals involved in the adoption field.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
This book is a great read for anyone thinking about or on the adoption journey. I would also recommend this book to practitioners who want to get a view from the adopters side and to potentially put them in the shoes of a family set up different to their own life experiences.

The book reads like a diary but is also punctuated by events outside of the writers life such as observations on the media and politics in the areas of LGBT adoption globally, which really helps the reader to relate to some of the wider issues faced by LGBT people. Well worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
This is a great short book that is written in short journal entries over the course of a few years following Pablo and Mike's journey through the stages of adoption. Its very touching and full of real experiences, not just a lovely watered down experience. I found a lot of identification and it helped really understand what it must feel like going through this process. My thanks to the author!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Loved it, Nice to read a well written and honest depiction of adoption. I'm going through the adoption process myself and after reading the first couple of pages i couldn't put it down. I may have cried at the end but it was fine, no one was watching!
Great book, a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Great book. Easy to read and so relatable and accessible. Have only just started the adoption process myself but feel better equipped to face what's to come having read the book. Would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
I bought this for my brother and his partner who are going through the adoption process. They have both read it and think it's a wonderful true story and very insightful. Although its not a long book it's perfect for an afternoon read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Pablo and Mike's experience of adoption closely matches ours so far. A quick and simple read with a real emotional punch, it is nice to know that other people have gone through the adoption process and come out the other side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
A well written perspective and an enlightening read for anyone wanting to understand the complexities of adoption.
At the time of writing this comment silly Amazon has the price of this book very wrong. The publisher is here [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)