Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2011
This is a great resource book for advanced photographers. Like 'Lighting for Portrait Photography' by Steve Bavister it is a book of images accompanied by lighting diagrams but the lighting is much more interesting.
Perhaps not all the images will be to everyone's liking but knowing how to create the lighting effects will surely prove useful. I've been shooting with increasingly complex set-ups in the studio and I always want to find new ways to work. For a while I've been finding that too many photography books aim at beginners and don't really offer much beyond that. This is the first book that I've seen for ages that shows more ambitious and complex lighting ideas. It doesn't waste chapters droning on about gear so the bulk of the volume is useful. If you're coming to this book you know the difference between a beauty dish and an umbrella.
OK, some of the quotes from photographers are a bit pretentious but, frankly, I didn't really buy it for the text: you can use this book in seconds because of its visual design and that's what I like best about it.
It's far more interesting and educational that the majority of the portraiture books out there: let's face it, fashion portraiture is where it's happening creatively!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
This is a fairly good book, which provides a short introduction to lighting technique and is a good reference. The images aren't inspirational but aren't cringeworthy either. This would give a good grounding for people to look at photographs in magazines etc. and be able to work out roughly what lighting was used.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
Good book with some excellent 'how to light it' diagrams. Although many of these set ups are beyond the average studio space or photographers equipment bag, still great to see how it was done, and easy to adapt to own personal projects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
The main thing I like about this book is that it shows other photographer's lighting techniques in little easy to read diagrams and shows which lighting they have used, making it easy to get inspired and maybe try some of them out. It shows studio as well as location shots which is quite nice. I would definitely recommend it to anyone starting out with lighting in their photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Pretty good content. I bought it because I read somewhere that Solve Sundsbo was one of the contributors, but unfortunately he wasn't. The book contains a couple of crappy submissions by amateur photographers, but the majority are very good. Miles Aldridge is a contributor, which is rather impressive. Lots of useful technical data, but very little mention of lighting ratios at all, which you would have thought would have been essential. In a book about lighting, I'd want to know more about lighting ratios and less about f-stops and shutter speeds. If you can't work out an appropriate f-stop for adequate depth of field, avoiding excessive diffraction and getting a correct exposure, you probably aren't going to be reading a book on lighting fashion. That said, calculating lighting ratios can be difficult if you have studio strobes of different watt-seconds output, different guide numbers and different brands. Many fashion photographers shoot by feel, not by precise numbers, anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
Being an avid photographer I am currently building a great collection of photography books of which this book is so far my favourite. The fashion shots presented are amazing, and the clear and concise explanation on how to active the shots yourself is very much on point. I find this book inspirational and having instructions on how to achieve the same or an alternative of the original is a great help especially since I am still finding my feet with regards to studio and on location photography. This is a great book for anyone interested in fashion, fashion photography or for those just wanting to own a great photo book. [[ASIN:1907579141 Light & Shoot: 50 Fashion Photos]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
This is a very interesting book for all aspiring fashion shooters. It has 50 images, each with description of lighting set up used. Enough to you anyone a good understanding of lighting techniques.
You really do start to understand why lighting is so very important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
This book is a must for any photographer wishhing to learn abot lighting set ups for the studio and on location. Brilliantly illustrated with easy to follow explanations on how to achieve the end result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
The book is very inspiring and one of the thing that I like the most is the fact that many of the photographer.. don't use high end equipment and the explanation of how the shot was done is very well done. I do recommend this book to beginners and professionals that look for different ideas and to learn how is been done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Many books of this style are now being published which are aimed, I would suggest, at the enthusiast and those studying photography. The lighting set ups are clear and concise. Images showcased are created from natural lighting, constant lighting, portable strobes and multiple 'studio' strobe set ups. Some on location others within a studio, so not everyone will have the ability to recreate every image.

In general each double page spread consists of a reference image on one side and the lighting diagram and accompanying text on the other. Printing quality is good, with clear descriptions.

A good book to flick through for ideas and as a reference on how create a certain style, and a good place to then expand on those ideas with your own interpretation. Useful if you are stuck for an idea.

Certainly worth adding to your library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)