Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2014
This is a well written and very entertaining book, full of interesting facts and observations, and with some challenging puzzles thrown in. It's a great book to dip into and it contains some tricks that you could try out on family or friends. It won't turn you into a mathematician but it might make you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I like Rob Eastaway. I've seen him once at a conference and like the way that he has the ability to make difficult concepts easier. This is a book about expectations and is full of surprises. Suitable for mathematicians ans non mathematicians alike. Worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
This book is very interesting and it makes maths sound so simple even though it's not that simple. I also think that it is very imaginative and I think that Rob Eastaway is - as well as being a marvellous author - is one of the most intelligent people I know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I always had problems with maths at school, down to not a very good maths teacher. But this book explains things in very simple terms, and the logic behind it all, so it does begin to make sense. Perhaps more maths teachers should read this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
The book surprised me, I began reading thinking that I would be thrown into learning interesting things but with difficult maths however was nicely surprised when the book was written in a way that everyone can understand. Great maths book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
A superb little book laying out some interesting points about maths.
Although basic, it is full of useful examples and techniques for using maths. Most points covered were interesting enough to warrant further research online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
An interesting guide to the maths of probability with novel examples and practical tricks to demonstrate them. Suitable for anyone interested in recreational maths or teachers seeking new material to enliven the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Although trained as a scientist (chemical engineering) mathematics is not really my thing. The maths described in the book is interesting and very well explained. I wish there were more books like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Treats you like an intelligent person who didn't think they liked maths to take you on a tour of interesting things that turn out to be based on maths - without requiring you to remember it all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
The author's preface is very honest in saying that there is very little actual maths to follow in the book. He says this might be frustrating... and it is! Having said that, it does do what the author sets out to do, which is to show some of the fascinating facts and 'tricks' which are sadly left out of maths education. If it gets read by 'mathsphobes', which I doubt, it should help a little. I'm giving a generous 4 stars because the book does just what the author set out to do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)