Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 27 October 2010
I received this selection of books as part of a present and I cannot recommend them enough. The books and the case they come in are of a high quality and will look good on anyone's book shelf. Some of the stories are very well known and others not so well known but the books are compact enough to fit into anyone's pocket or bag. I know that I will continue to cherish the collection for years to come.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Great wee box of books - the size of each one is deceptive, it takes a lot longer than you think to work your way through these books. I've currently just finished the MR James book and have no issues what so ever. Easy to read, convenient size, and the small red book mark / ribbon made a welcome treat. I'd recommend this to anyone - not on to the next book here!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
The set is neat and compact and provides a good number of ghost stories, principally MR James but also Charles Dickens, Edgar Allen Poe and Sheridan Fanu.

The overall quality of the books is good though getting them out of the case can be a tight squeeze.

I am satisfied overall with my purchase.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I am very impressed with this boxed set. The individual books are beautifully printed and bound, while the slip case is a work of art. I am astonished at the low price for such high quality. I had not known this publisher before but will certainly buy from them again.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Bought as a gift for my partner. Good quality books and box with classic stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
An excellent boxed set, worth it for the totally complete set of M R James alone, but also containing a fair few other entertaining (and occasionally disquieting) tales. Underneath the dust-jackets are some rather beautifully bound wine-red volumes reminiscent of prayer-books, the gold edging of the pages sticking together just enough to require each page to be gently peeled open – rather as though one is unlocking a further secret very time. It had a mildly creepy effect in the small hours of the morning…

The M R James stories (although a little repetitive after a while in theme and setting) are frequently magnificent: absolute mastery of atmosphere and the ghost-story form. By contrast, the Dickens stories are tiresome (as Dickens often is) and characterised by whimsically ‘humorous’ asides which are not only wholly unamusing but also undermine any atmosphere which might have been building. The exception to this is The Signalman, which probably deserves its place in the ‘Best Ghost Stories’ volume – for once Dickens plays it straight, creates a genuinely disturbing atmosphere and eschews his usual twee moral messaging, good-hearted cheery urchins (and so on). Whether the ‘Best Ghost Stories’ actually are what the title suggests is always going to be a matter of opinion (as, to be fair, their editor acknowledges). If nothing else they afford an opportunity to read work from a wide selection of celebrated authors, and at times the stories hit the mark.

Overall this boxed set is beautifully produced, is terrific value, and is well worth dipping into (and in the case of M R James, reading from cover to cover).
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
The stories are first class in the genre, the books look very nice but be aware that they are very small which is a shame really
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
arrived very fast was very happy yay woohoo yay yay yay what eles can i say nothingso yay yay yay yay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here