Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2010
This book is billed as the PC builder's essential handbook 2010 and it really lives up to this description.

Some 160 pages of very well written text, supported by excellent colour illustrations make this book essential reading for anyone contemplating building their own PC. It is clear enough for a first time builder to be able to tackle building a PC and detailed enough to provide additional information to someone who has built PCs in the past. Although I have build many PCs in the past, I found this book very useful, because it covers all the very latest Hardware and Software, including a chapter on Windows 7.

I was so impressed with the way this book was structured that I also purchased the 2009 Version and another in the series by the same author covering PC Fault Finding.

If you are going to build a PC, this book is a must!
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
This is a book for someone building their first PC, which was my position - although I'm certain to dip into it for my 2nd and 3rd (yes, be warned, the process is slightly addictive).

The documentation you will get with your motherboard is pretty good, though the images are likely to be small B&W rather than the nice big colour illustrations in the book. However, where this book scores in particular is helping you think through things like "what kind of PC am I about to build?" (budget, mid-range, top, media centre, storage unit etc).

Having decided roughly what you want, you will then be presented with options such as alternative CPU units that would do the job, the type of motherboard you should use, what graphic card you might want ... You will also be talked through installing drivers and operating systems, what free-ware there is out there that you might want, and a trouble-shooting checklist.

I refurbished a Dell Inspiron 3000 with a new motherboard, processor, memory, and hard drive. What was left you might ask, but I do now have a useable power supply for spare, and was able to reuse the case, the graphic card, one hard drive, the keyboard, mouse and monitor. The result is a very nice and *much* faster computer.

I can recommend this book. Well worth the price and a good confidence booster for a newbie.

PS -- Have a look, though at motherboard sites too. On the Gigabyte site there is a fairly complex, but very useful ebook on building a computer that is a free PDF download. For me, though, this was a "as well as" rather than a substitute item.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
If you can use a screwdriver and can follow these assembly instructions, you can build your own PC. This book covers just about everything you need to know, but it doesn't give an assembly order, so here goes:
1. Unpack everything and make sure you know what it all does - in particular examine the power connects. Unscrew and remove all the drive cages from the case. Make notes as you go!
2. The hard part is fitting the backing panel and motherboard, so do this first. Lay the case on its side so the motherboard faces upwards. Screw the 6 risers (supports) into the case, place the backing plate over the external ports and carefully persuade the motherboard onto the risers. Tricky! Once in, screw the nuts onto the risers.
2. Fit the power supply (4 screws, easy). Tuck the cables out of the way pro tem.
3. Offer up the DVD drive and cage into the case so that the front of the drive is flush with the case; mark the position of the drive in the cage carefully; remove the drive & cage; fix the drive in the cage with 4 screws. (Easier than it sounds)
4. Slide the hard disk into its cage and fix with the 4 screws provided. (easy)
5. Once the drives are fixed into the cages, the cages can be replaced into the case (easy).
6. Insert memory and processor into motherboard (easy - read the instructions that come with them).
7. If you're using a video card (it's not essential) this can now be slotted into the MB (easy)
8. Connect the wiring (order unimportant but keep it tidy):
8.1 Case fans into motherboard (2)
8.2 24 pin motherboard connector
8.3 4 pin secondary MB connector
8.4 SATA data from hard disk to MB SATA socket 0
8.5 SATA cable from DVD to MB SATA socket
8.6 Processor fan into MB
8.7 SATA power connectors to DVD and hard disk (on same cable)
8.8 Front Panel connects (Reset, Power-on, lights) (read MB instructions carefully)
8.9 Video card PCI-E power connector
9. Check your work!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Im building my first PC (for high end gaming), i was very daunted by what was involved (whats the right motherboard, will this graphics card work ect,)so i decided to look around online and there are a lot of self help articles on the web but not all are very well explained for first time users, so i decided to get a book and plumped for "Build a Better PC 2010" recieved today and spent the morning reading it, this is a excellently made book with a great layout and easy to follow instructions from choosing your hardware, installing OS, what tools to use, whats the right setup for different builds (low-end, media, high end)also helps with setting up the bios and whats the best software for other tasks, anti-virus, video converts ect.

this guide is so easy to follow my nan could build her own rig lol. it took all my fears of building a pc myself away.

highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
I looked into building my first pc as it's something i've always wanted to do but didn't have a clue where to start, i knew nothing about what parts to get, how they worked etc.
Well i bought this book and a few weeks later i am now writing this review on the pc i built after reading this very informative book
Excellent book which tells you what parts you need, how to fit them, how to set up the computer, all with step by step photo's.If you are thinking of building one but are not very confident buy this book, you won't regret it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Found this book a useful resource for beginners. Well written and organised and simple to read, containing valuable advice and relatively unbiased perspectives which is very refreshing. But you will need a more comprehensive book to fault find broken PCs or carry out effective system administration tasks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2012
As well as buying PC Upgrades (by the same publisher) I bought this for my son to aid his studies in IT. It really is another indispensable manual for students and computer enthusiasts, helping DIYers to make the most of their PC's. Gives good, clear advice on upgrades and all those other things that today's kids just love to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
as a 1st time builder and even with a manual for case and motherboard I still found this book to be helpful.

Great buy and great cost and speedy delivery, in fact I ordered a few items and they all got boxed together and arrived b4 time and in good order.

thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
I bought this on the strength of other good reviews. It's ok but I would have preferred something with a bit more depth but I'm more than happy with it;if you are like minded you will also need another book for the detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
This book is brilliant, it helps you through the mine field of understanding what parts suit what type of case and how the best layout of parts will best suit the case. If that makes sense to people. It helps you go step by step through the entire assembly and testing to make your own pc from scratch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)