Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2012
Phil Baker's wonderful biography of Cockney artist and occultist Austin Osman Spare is a joy to read. Baker succeeds in presenting a rounded, informed portrait of a character whose posthumous fame has brought him to the attention of a wide range of people interested in magick, artwork and automatism. He manages to gently and affectionately debunk some of the wilder stories about Spare - many of them peddled by Spare himself, and by his sometimes associate Kenneth Grant - without detracting from the overall impression of a unique individual of rare talent whose life story captures the zeitgeist. I can't recommend this highly enough - a pure pleasure to read! It's also very funny, shining a light on many other key characters in the story of British occultism, for example the 'Great Beast' Aleister Crowley:

'At other times Crowley liked to think he was magically invisible, and there are several stories of him parading around the Cafe Royal in full regalia, not catching anyone's eye, until a visitor or tourist asked a waiter who he was. Don't worry, said the waiter; that's just Mr Crowley being invisible.'
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I knew very little about Mr Spareand his work, although I have known of him through the reference of others for many years. I found this book to be well written, informative and well worthy of a read if the art, or magical theories, of Austin Osman Spare have piqued your interest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this biography of Austin Spare, espacially the stories of his dedication to constantly working on his art, his 'pop-up' in todays jargon art exhibitions and his love and kindness to the cats. Phil Baker also seems to have recognised some humour in Spare and it comes across in the text so as we, the reader and the storyteller, all feel we are... singing from the same hymn sheet. So to speak.
Some of Spare's work is truly great and always innovative, so I believe he deserves this book to place his memory and legacy into the history of art where he rightly belongs instead of being ignored by mostly ill-informed so-called experts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2016
This was a brilliant book superbly researched. Even if you're not drawn to the occult its an amazing insight into the life of a very original talent. I enjoyed the accounts of his friendship with my uncle in it too. Recommended for anyone on the left hand path.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
It does indicate how the artistically gifted and talented Austin Spare went about doing his mystical activities both on the material and psychomystical levels. His history is fascinating to read, as also the connections he had with the society of the day and esoteric publishing dabblers up to the time of his death in, I think, 1976. He died in penury, so perhaps there may be a moral lesson to be learned from his life. The system he used is very enigmatic and the code has never been cracked by anyone, even though there are hints that erotic dreaming is a method of being able to contact 'subconscious levels'. Disturbing esoteria in some places and it is NOT for dabblers or the faint-hearted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Brilliant book on AOS with an excellent insight, very well written and most informative. I was sad when reached the end as I loved this book. Please write some more Phil if you read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
if you like the art and reading this is a very interesting book. The writer has produced a great work.Well worth getting a copy reading or giving as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Biography of a fascinating artist who lost himself in an occult dreamworld.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
A really interesting book about an amazing artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)