Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
London's Lost Rivers: A Walker's Guide
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 April 2014
Being a keen London walker and interested in all London history this is a wonderfully detailed book taking you down the routes of what were smelly, foul and dirty lost rivers of our city. An insight into local history along the way and the exicitement of reaching the outlet into the Thames. It makes you view the landscape in a completely different way noticing dips in the road that were once valleys and listening to pertinent drains to hear the water still flowing underground. You can make it a day out or an afternoon stroll.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Interesting and quik delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
This is a great new addition to ways of exploring London on foot - an intriguing, sometimes whimsical view of the city from the bottom up - tracing the lines of its forgotten rivers. Its handy, pocket-size means it's easy to take along on your walk, and the route instructions are sensibly spaced and easy to follow. There's an absolute wealth of recent and ancient historical and geographic information along the length of each route, which Tom Bolton has lovingly researched and presents in a fresh, conversational way. A real companion on your walk. And the whole is complemented by eerie, atmospheric photos by SF Said that let you know you're far from the obvious tourist haunts here. Get it and start exploring!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
A fantastic book that is as insightful as it is fun to read. Brings us to make fascinating discoveries about our own city, why things were built where they were, how they were, following what natural waterway... and to reflect on our urban environment in constant evolution.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
What a refreshing little book this is. From the introductory paean listing the names of the lost rivers to the hand drawn maps that accompany each walk, I defy you not to be captivated. Well written, with sufficient detail to take you along meandering routes (of course) and enough historical facts to carry you on from one stopping place to another, it is an excellent guide to exploring parts of London that you might never have visited or, if you are an armchair traveller, thought about. Recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I have read several books on the lost rivers of London but this is the first one I read that allows you to follow the courses of these rivers in comprehensive yet straightforward directions even when they disappear underground. I have completed the River Effra walk and look forward to tracing the other rivers. An excellent book. Very informative.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Have just finished the final walk in the book (The Peck) and wanted to add my recommendation to those of others below. This is not a book for tourists who want to explore the traditional London sights and it is so much better for it. It takes you to areas of the city that, frankly, you'd be unlikely to visit otherwise.

It's really well researched, clearly laid out and very entertainingly told with a great use of examples and anecdotes from all eras which really bring the narrative to life. I would heartily recommend it and look forward to a follow-up from the author. And, no, I'm not related to him nor do I know him.

Minor quibbles? The first edition had a couple of typos on the route instructions which I'm sure have been picked up in later editions. And the colour photos were, for me, unnecessarily arty. But those aside this is a wonderful book and a must have for those of us who enjoy exploring London but are not served by most of the walking books available.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
Really interesting. My 20 year old son and I had a fab day out following the Fleet. We cheated and hopped on tubes and buses, but it was great and we learned a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)