Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
nice book, beautifully illustrated... some of it is a bit far out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
This book is more about the wonderful visuals. This does not delve deep into its subjects, however if you're like me, someone who has not studied science and geometry in particular but find them fascinating, then you will still learn from it. I bought it because I thumbed through it in an art shop and then regretted not picking it up after. The drawings are gorgeous and refined, making you feel a bit like you've come across the notebook of a renaissance scholar. The cover is very nice too, with shimmering letters. It makes a lovely, intelligent coffee table book.. something you can just pick up and flip through as you find a random topic and explore.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Absolutely amazing book with a beautiful cover. I wish the format was bigger and some images had a better quality, sometimes there are writings on the images that are difficult to read. The section on music was a bliss to find as I was looking for information on music without having to go through tens of music books to get less than half the info this book has in just a few pages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This book is absolutely wonderful!!! The quality of the hard cover edition is beautiful, the design and illustrations are just sublime, magical. It makes a beautiful gift as it is just lovely. The information is not extensive since it is mostly illustrations, but it is excellent info anyway. For deeper information I recommend A Beginner's Guide to Constructing the Universe by Michael S. Schneider which is deep in content, extensively, but the quality of the book is nowhere near the beauty of this edition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
This book is an old favorite of mine, it looks at four of the liberal arts of the classical world and the middle ages (there are seven of these arts in total.) The four arts of quadrivium looks at are arithmetic (study of number), geometry (the study of space), music (a time centered art), and astronomy (which combines time, space and number).

This is a very high quality edition, quality print, paper and binding, and elegant graphics. The book is not dense or intellectual but gives the reader a quick bite sized over view of important aspects of the field.

Overall a very readable introduction to a fascinating field.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I've enjoyed a number of the "Wooden Book" series in the past
and so decided to try this collection. I haven't got to the
"Harmonograph" section yet but, so far, the rest has been excellent.

As with the other "Wooden Book" editions that I've read, there
are a number of well-known elements along with a number of
not-quite-so-well-known ones that I've also encountered but the
real pleasure is in finding the nuggets of "Hey, I didn't know that!"
that are scattered throughout the volume and in having a single
easy to grab book that summarises each aspect.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
Gorgeous book, every page is a short summery of one part of this immense subject. Gorgeous illustrations, something to dip in and out of. Some bits are a bit mathematical and hard to understand but still it is a summery of it. There is so much to know about our universe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I love the Little Wooden Book series and this hardback follows the same principles and layout. The combination of concise written word with diagrams works so well. The narrative is both esoteric and accessible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This book is awesome!! It evokes stimulating thought & Imagination!! makes me smile and feel more intrigued with every paragraph read. . .A book all creative open minded Thinkers should not be without. . . If you like all things Metaphysical then this needs to be on your shelf!!! (if this book & then this review are appealing to you. . . .Add to your basket and make your way to the checkout!! ) ENJOY!!!! :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
I am a big fan of Wooden Books and this is really a combination of other Wooden Books including Sacred Geometry and other geometry and musical works. The book itself is an example of classic design from binding to illustrations and is extremely tactile. Read this and it will change the way you view the world.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)