Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book: it is witty and amusing and contains every factoid about Dr Who and its creation, cast and crew, plots and pilots, myths and mayhem- a veritable compendium of time and space! What's brilliant about it is the style of writing; it would be easy for a book so crammed full of Dr Who knowledge to become dry and boring or too geeky (we'd all want it a little geeky!) and fanatical but instead of backing away from the overly avid fan in the pub wanting to show you their sonic screw driver, you are carried along by a friendly storyteller wanting to share their excitement about a topic they love. It's so funny and interesting that I will even forgive the author for having the wrong opinion as to who is the best Doctor. Perfect for both the fan (or long suffering spouse of fan) and novice alike. It even has an episode guide!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
This is genius, perfect to suit Dr Who and I love the way in which the author has included his own opinions. This makes it a much more enjoyable read and perfect if you're a long time fan of the show or want to learn more about it. Strongly recommend to any Whovian!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
As other reviewers have mentioned, this is quite a subjective overview of Doctor Who - no problem with that if it's presented as a series of reviews. Unfortunately, this is meant to be a reference book. Far worse, however, are the blatant errors Danes makes. Even if he wasn't sure of the details, other reference books abound, and let's be honest a quick check on the internet would have saved his face.

For example, he lambasts the "cliffhanger" scene from Dragonfire, but claims this happens at the end of part two, and is resolved in part three. Er, no it doesn't. He complains about the guards quoting from "The Unfolding Text", but rather diminishes his argument by claiming this happened in The Happiness Patrol. Which it doesn't. He states that Maxil shoots the Doctor "in the back" in Arc of Infinity. No he doesn't. And so on.

It is these inaccuracies, combined with the lack of objectivity that spoil this book. We have to ask who it is aimed at. If it's for relative newcomers, then make sure you get your facts right. If it's for old hands, then know your audience. We're used to spotting mistakes from a very long distance.

Overall, this is a blatant attempt to cash in on the 50th Anniversary, and should be avoided. If Danes can't be bothered to write his book properly, I'd advise you not to buy it.
1515 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Really interesting, informative book - a good overview of the history of Who and written in a clear, concise, witty style which I really enjoyed. It told me a lot which I didn't know and I found the whole thing fascinating - I got a clear, linear sense of the history of the show itself and how it's changed within the context of the last fifty - fifty! - years. I loved the caricatures of one and eleven,and of course Sexy herself, on the front cover and I was thrilled when opening the book to find it had been signed by the author - unexpected and an absolute bonus. Recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Great for DR Who lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
There is every possibility that you will thoroughly enjoy this book, especially if you are a similar age to the writer. When you consider the writer's age his opinions make perfect sense, and will probably match those of many other Doctor Who fans born at a similar time. Patrick Troughton is much praised in the book, this is partly explained by the fact that he is the earliest Doctor the writer would have been able to remember (although Troughton was a fine actor as well). His praise for the Pertwee era and the first few years of Tom Baker's run fits in with the age he would have been when these stories first aired.

The book is quite scathing about some of the stories from the Graham Williams era since at this stage he would have been getting older and perhaps losing interested in the programme, this criticism of the series continues throughout his analysis of the rest of the classic run of stories. On the other hand the writer has nothing but praise for virtually every aspect of new series Doctor Who, reflecting the fact that when the series returned in 2005 he was much older and possibly had a greater sense of nostalgia.

The book is mostly well written, with some interesting trivia, but some may find his opinions objectionable; he seems to have particular contempt for the Sylvester McCoy/Andrew Cartmel era of the programme, a fact he reminds us of at various times throughout the book. The writer even claims to have turned off 'Delta and the Bannermen' in disgust, how can he provide analysis of something he hasn't even seen?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I havent had dtime to read this book as yet, but I will be telling all my doctor friends abiout it
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)