Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Write to be Published
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 June 2011
Write To Be Published is a very clever book. It gives you a huge amount of information, both on writing and submitting manuscripts. It covers all the tricky topics you've ever wondered about, as well as offering lots of practical advice on when, how and who to submit to. But what makes this book different (and the thing which will make you fall in love with it) is the wonderful style in which it is written. Rather than the didactic tone of most books on writing, if you read Write To Be Published, it will feel as though you've sat down and had a really good chat with someone who knows just how you feel. Writing is such a lonely business and if you've ever stared down at your keyboard and wondered if you're on the right track, buy this book and start reading. You'll never feel on your own again.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
The author is so engaging, it's like you are both having coffee and a chat. She tells you the warts and all stuff about publishing, the stuff you want to ignore and stick your fingers in your ears and make a silly face. She tells you in such a friendly and constructive way that you want to sit up and take notice. She talks sense! Finally someone who talks sense! Have read it in one sitting and now need to go lie down. Will blog about this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2017
Nicola Morgan packs this book with useful hints and tips that wannabe writers would be wise to pay attention to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has the most ambitious scope of any writing guide I've read but gives invaluable advice on every topic it covers, and all in little more than 250 pages. Nicola Morgan apparently prides herself on being a little grouchy, yet she writes with tremendous warmth. I devoured Write to be Published in a couple of days, and all the way I felt in the company of an old friend who just happens to have done it before.

The book is organised around the principal things to get right if you aim for publication. What to think about before you start writing, what to write, how to write it, how to submit it and how to begin navigating what follows, whether you are successful or not. That every one of these things is crucial shines out of the page. There are many excellent guides, especially from American authors, on particular techniques of writing, and there are other guides to the writing process and the soul-stretching task of submission, but never have I seen all these things addressed so well in a single volume. No time is wasted on points that are less than important; every page packs a punch. I keep remembering lines that particularly sang to me, and there were many.

Above all, Write to be Published has convinced me of the science behind the successful writer. There are good reasons why most submissions fail, there are good reasons why some books are a success, and there are several things you have to get right if you want to sell your writing. Nicola Morgan has distilled professional wisdom and insider knowledge to explain what these things are. And it is not only her pragmatism that infects you but her enormous enthusiasm for the joy of writing. For a novice writer like me, this book is a complete meal.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Brilliant!
Bought this copy for a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
I'm a follower of the Crabbit One's blog, so I was expecting this to be good, and I wasn't disappointed.

No soft soap, no sugar-coating, Nicola Morgan really does tell it like it is. But beware, advice this clear and sensible is not for the faint-hearted. Telling would-be published authors that all they need to do is write the right book in the right way, and send it to the right people at the right time (and add a little luck) is both the most succinct and the most daunting piece of forthrightness I've read in a long time.

Certainly, a lot of what she advocates can be boiled down to using plain old common sense and not being too blatantly barking in one's approaches to publishing professionals, but her guidance is backed up by her years of personal experience of trying and finally succeeding to get published. She is honest and incisive about her early failures, and this provides the final stamp of authenticity to this informative and straight-talking book.

Well worth investing in.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This is a no-nonsense, down to earth guide to writing a good book and getting agents and publishers interested in it. If you follow all the advice in this book about editing and refining your book, and then follow all the advice about how to submit it, you will definitely increase your chances of being published. Essential reading for any writer who is serious about writing to be published.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Having been down the aspiring - no, cross that out - frustrated writers' route, I found so much in this book to inspire me. It would be unfair of me to pinpoint exactly, so suffice to say I have already completed an Advanced Creative Writers' course, and yet still found enough information here to justify the price on the cover.

There is a good balance of humour and seriousness, plus a useful section at the end where you can make notes of the page numbers you might wish to refer back to at a later date.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
A wonderful insight into why a publisher says 'no' from someone who understands from painful personal experience but has also enjoyed the excitement of being an established and respected author. There's a distinct Miss Jean Brodie tone to the writing and I mean that in the sense of nurturing rather than didactic or patronising. I did laugh out loud at points, she's a funny woman, maybe reading more of her books would be a good move...
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
I bought this book on my Kindle, but have now bought it as a proper book to keep by me at all times, to be pored over, annotated, highlighted and post-it-ed extensively. As a new author (one novel published, and writing my second) this book is an invaluable reminder of ..... everything I need to keep in mind as I write. The style is perfect - direct, clear, and laugh out loud witty. I have many (extremely good and helpful) books on writing; but this is the one I cannot be without: a source of comprehensive information and guidance, and of inspiration and ideas. Brilliant!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)