Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2012
This book offers and excellent comprehensive introduction to the subject dealing with the main concepts associated with volcanology. It is an ideal first year undergraduate book on the subject, and is highly readable.I particularly liked the way keywords are highlighted bold type in the text. The use of colour photographs to show volcanic products is extremely useful as are the plethora of fully explained colour geochemical and classification diagrams. The section on 'explosive pyroclastic eruptions and their deposits' seeks to embrace new concepts such as low concentration PDCs, whilst equating them with old concepts such as surges. Such distinctions are invaluable and will provide the undergraduate and general reader with clarity within classification which is largely missing in the current undergraduate literature on volcanology.
I enjoyed this book very much, and for the price it really should be considered as a volcanological core text book in basic undergraduate courses. Likewise it really is an interesting book for anyone who has an interest in the subject.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
I developed an interest in volcanoes after the Icelandic volcano erupted last year and grounded all of the aircraft in Europe, and wanted to know more about these fascinating natural phenomena. This book is just perfect. It gives really detailed, interesting information about volcanoes but is written in such a way that someone who is not a geologist (such as myself!) can easily understand. I would definitely recommend to anyone with an interest in 'Hot Rocks'!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
In this book, volcanologist Dougal Jerram takes us through a short and intense journey through the world of volcanoes. In a clear prose, we can read about the fundamentals (origin of melts, plate tectonics), the classification of volcanoes and their eruptions, volcano plumbing systems, and how we study volcanoes and why. I particularly enjoyed reading about cauldrons, Large igneous provinces, and the monitoring of volcanoes. Even though introductory books in general are short and present the key aspects of a specific topic, Jerram's selection of themes represent an important contribution: It becomes clear that "Introducing volcanology" has a solid base in Jerram's research the last decades. The book ends with the 2010 eruption on Iceland, and I can't help feeling that I wanted more. Let's hope Jerram's next book will be about volcanoes too, and that he will share more of his personal experiences with one of the world's most exiting phenomenon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
This little book is very concise (106 pages + glossary) and illustrated with useful photos, tables and charts. The author goes straight to the point; each chapter is coherently structured. Many aspects of volcanoes and volcanology are covered in few pages, which in itself is an achievement.

Unfortunately, every medal has two sides, and I sometimes found it a little difficult to relate to the text's extreme density. Some sections almost feel like long technical listings (e.g. types of volcanoes). Consequently, I think this book might be better appreciated as a support for or complement to a course or a series of lectures.

I also wish the glossary had been 100% reliable. I couldn't find "plume" for instance, although the word appears in bold font in the text (and should thus be defined at the end). Ironically enough the definition of "hot spot" refers to ... "plume" (as an entry).
It is also the first time I've seen a reference to Wikipedia (table p. 36) in a printed book, which I found intellectually questioning. I might belong to the old school but I usually turn to printed books when I'm searching for information that is likely to be (even?) more reliable than Wikepedia where everyone can write incognito on their favourite subject, referring to sources of variable quality. In addition, Wikipedia's pages can be modified anytime, and we cannot be sure the information Dr Jerram refers to corresponds to what can be read on Wikipedia today.
Otherwise, "introducing Volcanology" is a good little reference book.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
A beautifully illustrated short book giving an overview of what we know about volcanoes. In general the explanations are clear, and there is a glossary at the back explaining technical terms. A few of these explanations could have been written in clearer terms for the layman. The book concentrates on volcanoes on Earth - there is little on the fascinating volcanoes elsewhere in the solar system. In a book of this size, that is understandable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
As the book states, this is an introduction to volcanoes. It explains very well the workings of volcanoes, how they form, how they grow and how they destroy.
I enjoyed this book and look forwards to learning more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
The author takes the time to explain every aspect of volcanology and does it in a way anyone can understand. The book is packed with illustrations and diagrams. I really can't rate this book more highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
This book is a fantastic introduction to volcanology, initially we got the book to help my son (12) with his school project. He found it very interesting and extremely helpful and easy to read. Once I read the book i found it a fascinating read with lots of the authors personal experiences. If you are interested in volcanoes then this book is a must for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
The Book arrived before the time stated which was great and there were no other problems with the book. The book itself is great for people looking to learn or study more about Geology. My lecturer recommended this book and and you don't need to have any previous scientific knowledge or foundation. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
It came promptly, and laddy was absolutely thrilled with the contents. There's a nice balance of information and illustration, without the usual 'coffee table' books' huge, wasted margins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)