Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 6 August 2017
Ok, but nothing special. Should be sold as an ebook for £4-5; not worth more. Author should also email spreadsheet he promises to send to readers; he doesn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
This book gives a good introduction to trading on Betfair and the follow up sources are good. Each chapter takes the reader through different steps and explains well what to do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
Most of he books I read on betfair and/or trading are just a glossary of terms with no real content or ideas. With this book I was refreshingly surprised. The author offers up some plausible ideas and some of his unfinished ideas and research. If you are looking for betfair trading ideas this book is definitely worth a read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
All the theory in this great little book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
The author states the book is "written for the sports trader who is at the stage where he would like to take his trading to the next level.", and discusses the following topics:

The Learning Process
Having Attainable Goals
Your Trading Bank
Paper and Minimum Stake Trading
Learning from Mistakes
Keeping a Trading Diary
Trading from a Plan
Trading Systems
Learn How the Market Reacts
Back-testing
Make Sure Your Strategy Has Been Historically Profitable
Randomness and High Probability Trades
Mistakes and Warning Signs
Protecting Your Bank
A Money Management Plan
Learning to Accept Losses
Be a Contrarian
Trading in Your Own Time Frame
Balancing Trading and Living

It also lists a few trading strategies from certain sports (football, tennis, cricket, golf).

Experienced sports traders will tell you that most of these topics are very important - it's all good solid advice. However, most of the topic content spans four or five pages (of fairly large print), some for only three. As such, no topic is examined in any great detail. The book is more a list of techniques and skills than a training aid.

For example, the Chapter on Learning from Mistakes lists three examples of losing trades, then notes the lessons learned. The learning process itself is not examined - the need to be completely honest about decision making, the failure to recognise bad habits, the need to analyse thoroughly.

Another example: the author suggests only betting with a £20 note under the keyboard, so one doesn't forget the real value of money. Sorry, but that is not the kind of information which will make anyone a better trader.

It's difficult to know what to expect from this book. The front cover reads "How to make serious money trading betting exchanges", yet there is little in-depth content to take the reader to that holy grail.

Having said that, this will probably become the benchmark text for Exchange trading.

In short: There's nothing in this book which you can't read elsewhere for free and in more detail.

If this were a book for beginners I would give 4 stars.
44 Comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2017
This book is a bit of an entry level on the subject, but it is not bad at that, most of the stuff proposed I was already doing, still there are some useful tips, really fast reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
Been trying to trade Betfair for about 12 months without success and if like me you feel that your treading water on Betfair, then this book could be what your looking for.

What I like about this book is doesnt pretend to be something its not, the author doesnt claim to be a professional, just an ordinary guy who understands the trading process (and he does!). I emailed him, as there are some excel spreadsheets he can provide you with and I must say I found Pete a very approachable guy and I have since exchanged one or two emails with him.

I found the book easy to follow and its set out well and the information provided is good and very useful. My thought process has certainly been stimulated to look at the Betfair markets in a different way.

In conclusion; an excellent read and for the cost of a round of drinks its well worth the investment.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
A recommended read if your serious and willing to think outside the box and trade like a professional. Not for the ones looking for a quick buck!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
As I have said nothing special.This book maybe ok for a beginner.That it as much as I can say for it.He certainly is not giving you any trade secrets.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
a poor book. lacks any detailed discussion of systems and strategy. to much of the of the book will make no difference to how you use betfair.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)