Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2013
It's hard to say(being head chef myself), but this book is written by genuis chef, really inspirational reading.
Of course not all of the dishes in the book look the same in the restaurant, but recipes are workable though really time consuming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
What a remarkable book, from the matte front cover to the fact you get two page markers(!) and a photo of each dish (very rare in cook books).

This book has a great introduction which includes a quick guide to oven temperatures and timing and a list of essential equipment you will need to be successful in your dessert making endeavours.

Also, it has very detailed decriptions of the recipes, including an over view of each dish, what you need to focus on, key components and timing. Each recipe is broken down into individual parts of the finished dish. This means that if you only want to make one of the components of the dish you don't have to skim through the entire recipe just to find the bit you need.

So over all a great read, I've yet to attempt cooking anything from the book because I've only had it a day, but I'm sure the recipes are well tested and relitively (relative to a two star chef that is) easy to accomplish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
After his amazing first volume of savoury delights, i was a little worried that a completely separate second book on 'sweets' would be hard pressed to live up to its predecessor. However, when the weighty second volume arrived in the post, i was not disappointed in the least. the recipes are amazing - just the right level of detail to help you achieve the end result. The photos are beautiful, the recipes varied and whilst some are incredibly complex, the majority contain elements that any good home cook would be able to master with practice. The flavours are great and Phil Howard celebrates key seasonal ingredients at the centre of each dish. By far my favourite two recipe books and i have many a book on my kitchen shelves. It's great that such a high calibre chef is sharing his life's work so far and i look forward to trying out even more recipes over the coming months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
This was a lovely gift to my boyfriend who is a chef. Delicious and complicated recipes who are worth the effort. Well explained and easy to follow, but takes time and effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
This I got for a friend to give her son for a present, so I can't really review it, but having a quick look through it looked very good, sso I'm sure he will have liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Bought as a present and recipient loves it. Have had some meals from the book and although they do take ages to prepare, they are absolutely delicious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
where can i find 2 kg brillat savarin in Stockholm or 2 kg passionfruit without being ruined. now the search starts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Awesome books for professional chefs wanting to challenge themselves the detail is amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Probably one of the best dessert books that I have evr purchased, thought that it was innovative and more importantly the recipes that I have so far tried have all turned out fantastic, the salted caramel tart is something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
Square book fantastic book buy or copy or borrow just get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)