Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
48
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£40.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2013
This is a lovely book. It is well written, well organised and well photographed. Phillip Howard runs a great top end restaurant which by its nature shows great attention to detail. And so does the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Very nice book. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is without doubt a 5 star purchase, but without the facilities of your own restaurant, will present a challenge for most people who wish to cook any of the recipies at home. I teach professional cookery, which might not seem much qualification to those who make their living from restaurant cookery, but I can say that few chefs in the country can cook like this: no surprise there, as Phil Howard has 2 Michelin stars. However, this is probably the most beautiful cookery book I have ever seen and I have around 200 across history and cultures to compare it with. The recipes and the photography are 1st class; the recipes are fully explained and detailed, although you might need a larousse for definitions on some of the ingredients, So, why buy it? I think that this recipe book is a classic that will stand the test of time: I am looking, eagerly, through it to find recipes that I can cook, which at first sight, doesn't seem like many, but to aspire to this level of cookery, or even to adapt recipes for a dinner party at home is a challenge no-one who wants to cook well or better will want to miss. The recipes are demanding of time, organisation and skill that will stretch you and help you to become an infinitely better cook. This is a cookbook with a tremendous wow factor and I will certainly buy the next in the series and am completely happy with the purchase of the first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
There are cookbooks aimed squarely at the "I'm bored of my standard repertoire of week night suppers, and I want some inspiration". Equally, there are cookbooks aimed at "I'm having a dinner party, and I want to make something a bit special". And then there are cookbooks from Michelin starred restaurateurs and restaurants; uber aspirational, requiring a dedication to both acquiring ingredients and time given to cooking the dish that make using from these books not an exercise in cooking, but an exercise in producing a work of art, albeit a copy.

Philip Howard chef and co owner of The Squarefollow, based in Mayfair, London, with two Michelin stars, has launched a cookbook, which has been over 10 years in the writing, the first of a two, subtitled Volume 1: Savoury. The book itself is beautiful, on heavy, shiny paper stock, with each recipe simply but stylishly photographed and then written up over 3 or 4 pages or so. The 526 pages - this is not a small book - are organised into chapters on: basics, amuse-bouches, soups and consommes, salads, from the cold larder, from the hot lader, pasta, risotto, shellfish, fish, meat, and game.

Obviously, cooking food of this type is akin to a military exercise; it's immediately obvious that a brigade of sous chefs (each with a quiver of Japanese knives made by the most obscure cutler imaginable) would be immensely useful. For example, a Roast chicken consomme with stuffed wings, morels and foie gras calls for 32 ingredients, among which are 5 kg of chicken carcasses, 2 whole chickens and 2 chicken breasts.

What this book does illustrate is that at this level, the amount of work that goes into dishes of this quality is immense, and while the cost of a tasting menu at the restaurant (at £110) seems steep, it reflects that work. For those who want to have the time and patience to cook in that way at home, this book will allow you to try your hand at producing food worthy of fine dining. It is a beautiful volume and a must have for anyone interested in food and dining.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
This was delivered in good time and well packed.
It was a present so I cannot comment on its content but it certainly looked as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Been working in kitchens for 15years and like a lot of chefs own many a cook book. Every now and then you find a gem, a book that not only inspires or excites but educates, let me tell you this book is all this and more. Initially, after the first flick through I wasn't that impressed, this pictures of the food seemed a bit bit " rustic " . How wrong was I? After closer examination I found well thought out recipes , really helpful information and insight to the way one of the best chefs in the world thinks ( look out for the purple pages with his views on seasoning, foams and seasons, think Thomas Kellers French Laundry chapters on the importance of salt and France )
Having already bought Essence which it's self is based on a 2 Michelin star restaurant it's really interesting to see the difference in style in both presentation and ingredients and with the greatest respect for David Everitt-Matthias in my opinion Phill Howard's philosophy is more what I like.
Phill Howard lets us into his mind and I love it there, his food is well thought out and it's clear that his focus is purely on taste, flavour and food that is enjoyable to eat.
Already ordered the desert book and can't wait to see what gems that holds,
Honestly this is the first review on anything I have ever done and I hope it inspires to buy this amazing book, into matter what level of catering you are at , you need this book in your life....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
This is a true testament of outstanding and remarkable culinary intelligence rather than a cookbook in the conventional sense.
The recipes come unsimplified from the kitchen of The Square its self... Reminds me of early Roux bros/ Landis no compromising
This isn't a book that the average chef de partie will be reading for a dish of the day. Nor is it a cutting edge Dani Garcia or another publication by the El Bulli boys, this is fantastically executed "classically" based cuisine, you could purchase a copy of Quay or Noma to find your (oh not again) foraged ingredients this is just pure quality,
Any body who watched professional master chef will recall Jason Atherton felling a little uncomfortable having to judge Mr Howard's proven experience...did he make the final? Oh you better believe it!
Sorry now back to the matter in hand..
It is neither a Ramsey/Oliver/ready steady cook type with 30-second recipes or how to use up all the left overs for a family supper in an instant....ererer
This gives a clear and penetrating insight into the creative processes of a hugely talented chef, also into the levels of skill and passion needed to lift a restaurant to the highest level and keep it there. 2 stars for 15 years..Wow
Howard show's fantastic pairing of flavours adding textures and colour, you can see a little Simon Hopkinson some were in there...Another super chef..
The fact that there are 150 in depth recipes accompanied by a fantastic picture of each amazing dish that is in itself a true bench mark of the highest standards of London's fantastic food scene.
I will not mention any of the dishes as you can read that anywhere else....
What I will say is at 40 Pounds its amazing value.
And I cannot wait a year for the sweet edition....
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I've just spent 2 hours with the eagerly awaited, long time delayed but most importantly just delivered 'The Square' restaurant cook book. Phillip Howard, The Square team, and his publishing team have crafted a great book that is a fitting testament to The Square's 21 years existence delivering superb food service after service.

Mr Howard describes his personal history in the introduction and premises each section of the book with his thoughts on what is important. This volume contains only the savoury elements of the 2 Michelin starred The Square's offering yet still weighs in at 500 pages. Pastry to be published at a later date I guess.

The recipes are seasonal, harmonious and make clear sense engaging both my head and stomach. This is not the oxygen depleted terroir of the brilliant Ferran Adria or Grant Achatz et al where special equipment or a long list of hard to come by ingredients is required. The brilliant Mr Howard's cooking and his book occupy a ground to be walked and consulted day after day. It is clearly laid out with excellent descriptions and helpful advice for each recipe. The photography captures each dish well and straightforwardly.

Owning quite a few of the heaving hitting fine dining restaurant books, and taking into account I cook for a living, I would say this book will be used a great deal more than some of the others are. As beautiful as some of the other 2 and 3 Michelin star books are to leaf through and inspire and perhaps grab the odd technique, ingredient or flavour combo The Square book is a book for the kitchen over and above one for the 'coffee table'. The Square's intelligent and sympathetic cooking might be seen as a little too safe by some who prefer high concept and cutting edge technique but the rock solid technique and good sense in The Square's cook book is the foundation of superior cooking anywhere.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
I have not cooked a single recipe in this book, yet I have learnt a huge amount from it. Mr Howard concisely passes on a lifetime's experience in technique, selection of produce, consideration of flavours, and every other aspect of cooking, all in incredibly, yet surprisingly readable, detail. It's very different to the standard 2-3 Michelin star "food porn" picture books.

I probably sit an read this more than any other cookery book I own, as it is such a mine of information, and gives the clearest look I have seen into what it takes to produce food of the very highest standard. Well written, with lovely photography, I think anyone with a serious interest in cooking, or even eating, first-class food will love this book. The "sweet" volume is of the same standard,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
First impressions are that it is not as good as I thought it would be but haven't really had time to read through it properly so may re-rate it later
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here