Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 June 2016
Kudos to Terre a Terre for bringing a long overdue touch of high-end cheffery to vegan/vegetarian foods. This stylish vegetarian food porn shows that there's really no excuse for meat-free food to be poorly presented or bland. Desserts, in particular, are quite spectacular.

Having experienced TaT's restaurant a few times, I was really excited to read the recipes behind the dishes and they mostly don't disappoint**. It's not an everyday cookbook - but is brilliant for ideas & recipes for special occasions. Some kitchen confidence and know-how are required. Recipes often require a fair amount of advance prep work, or use a lot of ingredients. It's not really a beginner's book - but more adventurous cooks should find lots to savour. If nothing else, it should make you appreciate the effort that goes into producing quality restaurant food every day!

**Apart from the use of Parmesan with no clear mention of the need to use vegetarian alternatives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2016
This is a wonderful cookbook, packed with interesting recipes and information. I have eaten in the restaurant a number of times and it is incredible, so I knew the book was definitely one I needed in my book case. The images throughout are delightful. The recipes are varied and complex but completely worth the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2015
Great book if you are into Vegetarian/Vegan fine dining.
The recipes are labor intensive so I would recommend it to people who have medium to advanced experience in cooking, Also some recipes are wrong so you need to be familiarized with a specific technique or recipe in order to make it work.

For an introduction to vegetarian "The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen" by Peter Berley is the the way to go.
Guides you through ALL the basics with straight forward recipes, puts you in contact with a multitude of vegetables and other plant based ingredients.and has a DIY approach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2012
I would really like to visit the Terre a Terre restaurant because the food in this book looks amazing. It was no good to me as a coookery book though, the recipes are rather complicated and the ingredients would have been impossible to source in my local area. If you are a very expert cook and you live in somewhere like London then you would ejoy this book. For the rest of us, it's nice to look at the recipes and dream of eating in Terra a Terre one day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2016
Fabulous book of inspirational vegetarian recipes, however, a tad on the cheffy side for everyday. Will be taking inspiration form flavour combinations and techniques rather than following recipes slavishly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
A stunningly beautiful book but recipes are far from easy , quite complicated definitely not for the beginner .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2013
This was a book I was really excited to buy but which has really disappointed me so far. Dont get me wrong the recipes look great and they are beautifully photographed, but the text layout is very busy and cluttered for my taste. It is estimated that on average we only recreate 2 recipes for every cook book we buy. I have really enjoyed looking at the photos but have to admit to not trying any.of the recipes as the text layout has just completely put me off
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2013
The photography is gorgeous and its a real pleasure to sit and read. I have tried a few of the recipes and as long as you devote plenty of time, energy, and money to buy the ingredients it's a lot of fun. The tomato consomme is wonderful and well worth the effort . Not one I use everyday but I'm glad to have it on the bookcase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2015
Even the most hardened meat eater will enjoy these dishes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2015
Proved to be the perfect Xmas present. Beautifully illustrated, clearly written recipes, good strong book structure, only criticism is that we would have liked more basic recipes rather than 'dinner party' food. Thank you, Terre a Terre. And to Amazon who kept the delivery promises despite the Xmas pressures!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)