Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2011
The three volumes produces by Mr Anslow are essential to any serious ITF/Chang Hon Tae Kwon-Do practitioner and/or instructor. The books are far more accessible and up to date than the 15 volume bible when it comes to patterns, and very well laid out for easy reference.

These volumes are far more useful than the condensed encyclopaedia, with each movement clearly laid out accurate photographs.

The Tae Kwon-Do history section is very useful and provides a good overview of how ITF Tae Kwon-Do came to be, with a good overview of who contributed to each of the patterns and a short biography of each master.

An up to date book on the Chang Hon patterns is way over due, but it's been worth the wait to get something of this quality!

Of course these books are no substitute to hard training under a good instructor, but used correctly they will be referenced often and prove to be invaluable!!

If a Kindle release becomes available, I will be buying my 3rd set of all 3 volumes. Having these available electronically would make them the ultimate reference book to use whilst training.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
Just got Volume 2 which deals with the 1st - 3rd dan Black Belt patterns.
As an instructor, I need a single lightweight book that I can take to classes. I needed the book to have pictures for ALL moves, clearly showing direction of the moves and the Korean terms for each move. Also want the original Ko-Dang pattern included. This book ticks all the right boxes and more.
The Encyclopedia of Taekwon-Do Patterns, Vol 2
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
I have just learnt the basic moves of Yoo-Sin in under a hour. I found this pattern hard to get my head around before now. This book was so clear and easy to follow with photos and foot positions.
As a 3rd Degree black belt I highly recommend the 3 volumes as an invaluable training aid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a TaeKwon-Doist of many years, I've found these three volumes on TaeKwon-Do patterns, by Mr Stuart Anslow to be an excellent work. Superbly photographed throughout with clear instructions, that take the student step to step to master each of the patterns presented here.

I heartly recommend these books to every serious student of TaeKwon-Do

Master Paul R Liversidge (8th Dan Black Belt)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
I have the full 3 book set, and have to say the books are extremely useful. I used to struggle over the condensed encyclopedia of tae kwon-do reading the "turn on line AB while blocking to C" style instructions. Mr Anslow's set of books tells you exactly which way to turn and how far, where to place the feet, it has extensive foot/stance diagrams to help, as well as photographs of each movement coupled with sequenced photographs. It is a very thorough reference book, and is made complete by including both patterns Ko-Dang AND Juche, along with all of the GTF patterns, which the GTF practice in addition to the standard Ch'ang Hon set.

Also looking forward to Mr Anslow's 3rd volume of Ch'ang Hon Taekwon-Do Hae Sul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
It's a bit odd when you spend several years getting to 1st Dan and then carry on training. Suddenly there's less people to ask, you spend more time in class teaching rather than training (and so you should), leaving you to fend for yourself considerably more. At this point, a good book helps. This is a good book.

With Kwang-Gae in Volume 1, Volume 2 continues on with the remaining patterns for 1st Dan and carries forward to Sam-Il and Yoo-Sin which are the first two patterns for grading to 4th Dan. It includes both Juche and Ko-Dang, together with the GTF patterns Jee-Goo and Jook-Am. The format is exactly the same as Volume 1, with the same appendices, histories and pattern meanings. The patterns are shown in exactly the same fashion, with technique descriptions, but as the patterns have by now become more complicated, the progression steps are more common and considerably more essential.

This is, again, another book I bought to read on holiday. While I was there I taught myself Ge-Baek. With my lack of talent in that area, I reckon that says it all. The other really good use I've had from this book is that provided you have a reasonable ability level and are willing to read a bit in advance you can help higher belts. With the technique descriptions you can check their traditional line work, and you can follow the book in order to assist them with the patterns they need to learn. That is a real bonus. It allows different levels to help each other away from class or an instructor and for each of them to gain something from the time.

For training on your own or in small groups this book is invaluable. If you want to make life a little easier for yourself, buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
This book is a must for Black Belts and senior students of Taekwondo. I have used all three volumes in this series and thoroughly recommend them both as a reference source and a study tool for grading preparation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
This book is a great resource to anybody who studies ITF/Chang-Hon style Taekwon-Do.

I have the 15 volume Encyclopedia of Taekwon-Do by General Choi Hong Hi and whilst those remain my main reference books I find myself picking up Stuarts books more often as they are more portable (3 books cover all 25 patterns from General Choi plus others).

Often I find the pictures and explanations of the movements to be clearer in Stuarts books than those in General Choi's books, because Stuart has seen the issues with the General's books he has worked to clear up some of those by providing many more pictures of the movements, rather than just the start and finish positions Stuart will have 3 or 4 photos (or more if needed) to show the smaller details.
Stuart has also cleverly avoided aligning this book with just one viewpoint, taking care to state where one group looks for one technique and another would use a different technique (such as the dodging reverse turning kicks in Juche) and also includes both Juche and Kodang showing all 25 patterns from General Choi.

In addition Stuart has included extra information such as the GTF patterns, the Silla knife patterns etc plus a lot of historical information on the patterns.

Well worth a purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I bought this book to help me get through my 1st Dan (ITF) patterns. This book was a great help. It is clear, well laid out and the photos are brilliant. Not only does it show the movements but the transitions between as well. I would recommend this book to fellow ITF TKD martial artists. Having been awarded 2nd Dan at the end of last year I am now working on Eui-Am with this excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
Not to be confused with the 15 volume Encycopedia Of Taekwon-Do by General Choi. This is the latest work from respected Taekwon-Do stylist Stuart Anslow. Stuart's previous work Chang Hon Hae Sul explored the hidden applications in the Chang Hon pattern set. With this latest publication spanning three volumes, Stuart has tackled the more conventional area of pattern movements and performance.

This set of books is not about application, its simply a step by step guide to learning and performing the relevant pattern applicable to all grades from 9th kup to 9th Degree. Every Chang Hon pattern is explored in some depth from Chon Ji to the final pattern required for Seventh Degree and above Tong IL. What is also unique from a Chang Hon stylists perspective is that Stuart has included both Ko Dang and Juche and is the only work that documents all 25 patterns created by General Choi and the pioneers of the ITF

Stuarts work is unique in that not only does it include the 25 Chang Hon patterns but also provides step by step instruction in the six Jee-Goo Hyungs created exclusively for the GTF by Grandmaster Park Jung Tae and the Silla Knife pattern created by Grandmaster Kim Bok Man. These GTF hyungs have never been published in this format before and the Silla knife pattern was only available in Grandmaster Kim Bok Man's book Practical Taekwon-Do. Whilst not directly relevant to Chang Hon stylists, these make a fascinating reference work for all serious students of Taekwon -Do, and I personally have enjoyed studying the hyungs created by GM Park which not surprisingly for anyone with any knowledge of GM Park contain some interesting kicking combinations which are not for the faint hearted or stiff legged!

Now some may say "but this has been done before! Why do we need another patterns book?" Yes its been done before but the only other reference book I own that gives this much material is the full 15 volumes written by General Choi himself, and unfortunately the 15 volumes are no longer widely available. The condensed version which is widely available does contain all patterns but only in text form which is much harder to follow or check if unsure of a move. The only other picture reference for the higher grade patterns that I am aware of is by the TAGB and doesn't do a great job, merely showing the previous posture and the finished next move with very little detail or explanation. Stuart's book is clearly illustrated with the starting posture and the finished next position but where it scores highly is that it also shows the intermediate position that the student travels through to arrive at the end position, this is invaluable to anyone who is serious about learning the forms properly and follows General Chois 15 volume format. Obviously the books cant replace a good instructor but can provide that link between dojang and home practise that other books of this kind fail to to do.

Interestingly Stuart has taken a very broad approach and these books are directed at all students irrespective of association or style. There are a number of fascinating articles on the small but subtle differences that have been created as TKD has evolved and taken different routes over the years, rather than dismissing them Stuart embraces them without prejudice and presents them for the reader in an interesting and insightful manner. There are other articles on the history of Chang Hon patterns development, Sinewav , Speeds in patterns for various movements and so much more including a very complete Full History of Taekwon Do that appears in Volume 1 of the 3! Essential reading for the Taekwon Do historian.

Ultimately this has obviously been a labour of love and that shines from the pages to the reader. Essential reference work for all serious students of Taekwon-Do regardless of rank or association.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here