Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13


on 23 May 2017
Sound rulebook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This book is an excellent introduction to Emotional Intelligence for Managers and Human Resource practitioners and in contrast to other literature currently available provides a simple route map to what can be a complex topic.
Written in a clear and concise style and packed with practical exercises and fun illustrations the writer is able to transfer the theory of emotional intelligence and its varying components into real life scenarios which any reader can relate to. The inclusion of a self-assessment questionnaire is a real bonus and enables the reader to establish where they are now and how they can develop on the Emotional Intelligence components.
If you are involved in the use of Emotional Intelligence within the work environment there is a section dedicated to the development of the Emotionally Intelligent organisation, which includes the use of Emotional Intelligence as a change management strategy.
Overall, this book is easy to read and understand with the range of practical exercises providing the opportunity to put theory into practice. A good practical introduction to a complex subject this book may be small in size but is large on content. I can highly recommend it.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2017
Easy to read. Subject well explained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2002
This little pocketbook is a gem. Short on heavy theory and long on practical tips and techniques that help to demystify the concept of EI. This tiny book starts to answer the question "So what do I do to improve my EI score if I feel it is low?" Good pictures,cartoons and diagrams too - made it readable and light on the eye. Well worth a read - well done Margaret !
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2010
I bought a number of books on emotional intelligence and this was the cheapest and best! It was very accessible and interesting. It applies well to some of my specific work based interest in the subject. It also has some excellent exercises which I have found useful and which I intend to adapt for training purposes. The only down side is it's size which makes the more complex diagrams more difficult to see. Highly recommend though.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2007
I already read four other booklets of the Pocketbook series, and this one has been the best so far. It explains in simple words what emotional intelligence is (although there is no reference to the biology of emotions and the comparison or connection with 'cognitive' intelligence) and, most importantly, why we should develop it (although I must say it sounded a bit materialistic to read about companies who increased their income because of EI provision, but hey, this book is for business people, too).

Generally, it provides a simple, step-by-step approach, with handy resources (such as evaluation questionnaires) that gives to the non-academic reader excactly what he/she needs to know about this construct and how to develop it in practice. However, it should state in the sub-title that it is mostly addressed to organisations and is not oriented towards families and education.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2011
I came across 'Emotional Intelligence' Pocketbook and decided to buy it. I think it is a good book which can be read in a couple of hours and we can re-read it as often as we want since it is a small book.
The author explains the steps which are necessary to be taken in order to have emotional intellingence.
Although being a good book, it is wise broaden the subject with other proper big books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
THE BOOK ARRIVED IN EXCELLENT PACKAGING AND WAS RECEIVED WELL AHEAD OF TIME. It has proved to be a handy little reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2015
Some ideas... interesting but, just ok. It may help understanding, but not to be read alone. It may help a trainer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
Excellent service from the seller, at a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)