Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
8


on 12 October 2017
I really wanted to like this book (I own most of the books in this usually excellent series), but this volume left me very disappointed.

It looks good, with plenty of operational photos and many technical drawings/photos, but, alas, it contains a lot of errors.

The captions are often erroneous, misleading or based on conjecture.

For example, a picture from Norway with hills in the background is from "Denmark or Southern Norway"..., and how can the author possibly know it returned from an anti-shipping sortie, as stated? In another, an aircraft is assumed to be returning from a sortie, just because the external bomb rack is empty.
Bombs are frequently mis-identified, as well.

One of the most damning examples (considering the authors have written several books on WW 2 German Aircraft) is the supposed nose installation of an MG 81Z, which is, in fact, from a FW 189...

Get this volume if you want a general overview of the evolution and operational use of the He 111 and for the photos, but do not expect a detailed technical history or a fault-free comprehensive account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
A good book for those interested in operations etc. but much less technical detail and drawings than other books in this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2014
I will only give this 3 star because I am disappointed that this should have been a 3 or 5 volume series, of the same size, dealing with perhaps 2 each of the topics mentioned on the cover. One book cannot do the subject justice and sadly this volume fails in this respect being a jack of all trades and master of none. Positives are that the production quality is very good in all respects and the images are good if not new. My recommendation is that it IS worth buying but do not expect the definitive article.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2015
Excellent account of the He111, well illustrated , in both photos and line drawings, a solid book in the tradition of this series, the format works for me it is easy to follow and sheds light on an old warrior which flew from first to last.
Good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2015
OK publication, not much more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2015
An excellent book. Lucky to have it in my Luftwaffe collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2014
The book is impressive, more than 300 pages, a lot of pictures and detailed informations!

Only three stars because I'm a bit disappointed, many of the pictures captionings are completely wrong! Just a few examples, in a photo a Focke Wulf FW 200 is presented as an He 111, in another the tail gun position of an FW 189 is portraid as a non standard version of the He 111 nose gun position. There is also much confusion about the He 111 versions, H-6 depictded as H 11 and so on.
After the excellent book on the Ju 88 I was expecting a similar book on the 111.
55 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2014
Here's another volume in Ian Allan's superbly researched and written Luftwaffe series. These tend to go out of print quickly and ask ridiculously inflated prices on the secondary market. If you have an interest in Luftwaffe aircraft, grab these and all other titles as they are released.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)