Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
This is a most excellent book which goes into great detail about its subject. Mind you the entire series is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This is the second volume of Smith and Creek's history of the Fw 190 and continues the story into the period where the Allies wrested the strategic initiative from Germany and increasingly went on the offensive on all fronts.

Perhaps the most important thing to note about this book is that it continues directly from the previous one and is not written as a stand-alone account. There is no introductory summary and page and chapter numbers follow straight on from volume one. The style, layout and quality are the same as the previous book, though the proof-reading has improved and the (very few) problems in volume one are not repeated. If you have read volume one you will therefore know what to expect; if not you would probably be better starting there.

Volume two covers the Fw 190's operational roles from mid-1943 to mid-1944, stopping just before D-Day. Chapters cover the great Battle of Kursk on the Eastern front and the increasingly desperate attempts to hold back the Soviets, the defence of Germany against the rapidly growing USAAF offensive, the use of the Fw 190 as a 'Wild Boar' night fighter against RAF Bomber Command, and its use in the Mediterranean theatre.

As before the operational history alternates with chapters describing technical developments. This book takes the development of the Fw 190A, F and G series to their ends (though the operational history of the final marks will be covered in volume 3). Note that the Fw 190D is not covered.

There is a chapter on training which includes details of the ugly two seat Fw 190S trainer, and sections on two Fw 190 aces, a large one on Walter Nowotny and smaller oneon Egon Mayer supplement small potted biographies of numerous pilots. As the Fw 190 was used increasingly as a ground attack aircraft a lengthy section discusses the tactics used. Annexes list modification and refinement proposals as well as Werknummer (serial number) batches and totals built.

The text offers lots of detailed information. For example Smith and Creek continue to compare Fw 190 claims against actual American losses, acknowledging the inevitable degree of over-claiming made in combat. (Checking against RAF losses reveals a similar pattern). Also of note is the continued use of older models well after newer ones had been introduced - JG26 losing a Fw 190A-4 in February 1944 for example.

Volume two is as profusely illustrated as volume one. Photographs are clearly reproduced and informatively captioned. A few colour profiles supplement these. The physical quality of the book is superb.

In summary volume two continues the very high standard set by volume one, continues seamlessly from it, and makes me look forward to volume three with great anticipation.

Interested readers might like to look at Chris Goss's two books on Luftwaffe fighter bomber over Great Britain, one each on the day and night campaigns. These were carried out mostly by Fw 190s and Goss has written detailed and readable accounts of both.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
I had been patiently waiting for this second volume for the past year and was quick off the mark to order a copy for they will shift copies very fast and it will I think sell out pretty quickly.
Value for money , yes as another gent has said the quality of the product is immediately appreciated, the book from a material point of view is very well put together, the build is of excellent quality built to last.
Font size is good, the large format book presents photos and text in a clear uncluttered manner, the diagrams are clear and the colour plates are pin sharp.
caption wise the authors have done a good job , informative and intelligent , nothing vague or simply put in to fill space.
This is a seriously good book , it really is taking up exactly where Volume One left off - the development , variations and combat deployment of the FW190 continues and IMO it is very hard to fault, the authors have done a very good job and I would have no hesitation in adding Volume Three.
Top price for the book is £50 , a little expensive IMO but Amazons suppliers/ sellers do offer some very good deals.

I write this not as any sort of expert on the FW190, more as one who felt the need to know more about this important aircraft and in buying Vol. 1 and 2 of this series I have not been disappointed, an excellent book .

( Will this series include the "109" or the "HE-111", I do hope so.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
Following on in only 12 months since the launch of volume 1, this second volume is bound to be another hit. Quite simply it is superb, this book is packed with a lot of quality new photos, superb artworks and lots of informative text. There is a lot of detail on operational history covering all aspects of the European theatre. A very interesting section is included on night fighter use and there is some fascinating stuff on the development and use of some of the more unusual weapons such as the air-to-air mortar.

Hopefully we will see volume 3 next year - I will be placing my order as soon as it appears on Amazon.

As with volume 1, this is thoroughly recommended to all military aviation enthusiasts and modellers.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Following on from Vol. 1 the content seems to be stretching the material available to quiet an extent even the same picture appearing with different cropping and so on, also the text content seems somewhat disjointed just feel the work could have been done with 2 books, marketing again? This subject has had several histories published going back to the 1960s
so is going over much of the ground already covered.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This along with part 1 form the definitive book on the Fw190 and the images and information in here are really exceptional.

I can't give it 5 stars though for a couple of reasons:
- There are very few interior shots
- As a reference it is hard to track down a specific mark as the book is organised around themes that are not entirely chronological, so whilst later marks generally appear towards the end, there are still plenty of pictures of early marks in those sections too.

I bought this as a modellers reference as I have a couple of Fw190 kits to make. It has proved useful and I look forward to having time to read it properly, but it isn't the easiest reference to use.

Recommended for those interested in the Fw190, but modellers may want to obtain additional material, particularly if making an A9.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I want to like this series of books I really do, the series on the Me262 was a tour de force, but this series seems a bit confusing. There are lots of printing errors (typos, repetition of paragraphs etc.) particularly in the first volume but my main bone of contention is it can't seem to decide whether it wants to be a series on the design, development and production of the aircraft (which I would like it to be) or a blow by blow, daily account of it's operational service (which even a series of 30 volumes couldn't hope to do justice to). The authors clumsily try to do both and consequently trying to find details on particular variants is an exercise in futility. Good try though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Brilliant !!!
Packed with never-seen-before photos (As vol.1) !!!!!!!!!!
The best books ever read on this subject.
A must for every enthusiast.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Complete discussion about the late version of short nose Fw190.
A lot of images, drawings an exact of original technical book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Following on from Vol One this is a great book full of Detail/Diagrams/Photographs looking forward to Vol 3 Autumn 13
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)