Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 October 2009
This is an excellent book that describes 50 walks all over the UK.
The walks are described in very good detail and most people should be able to follow the walk. Each walk contains a lot of information about local interest, places to stay/eat, visitor information and public transport. The walks are also rated in a simple system for length and difficulty that makes it easy to judge for yourself.
At the beginning of the book is a useful map with markers for each walk, making it easy to see if there is a walk in your area/or your holiday area.
Every walk is also accompanied with a detailed OS Map extract.
All in all a very useful book for your next walk.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2010
A load of walks from across the country all featuring fantastic views - probably best if you do a lot of UK-wide travelling, as they are not very clustered. I am local to Northumberland, and there are not many to chhose from in this area - still a good book, that I hope to make use of.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2011
As an expat who wants to become more familiar with the British countryside, it was a great idea to purchase this book. It combines good walks and breathtaking sceneries. Directions are stunningly clear and are easy to follow. All in all, I am very satisfied with the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2010
I am a beginner to walking and this book seems to offer everythign I want from a starter book. A "must have" for photographers that want to walk to some great landscape shots or walkers that fancy taking some great photos.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2012
There are some great walks in here, but also some disappointing ones - for example a 4.5 mile Gower peninsular one that takes you along a beach and then back along the cliff behind it. By all means a lovely walk, but there are so much better ones in the area than this. I've found similar with other areas. A decent book for ideas, but certainly doesn't meet it's claim of being "top 50 walking routes to Britain's greatest views"

I'd have given it 3.5 stars if it weren't for this claim which with some of the unimaginative routes (that overlook what in my opinion are more spectacular ones nearby) it could have been better
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2011
Really useful guide to many walks in the uk
Maps are extracts from os maps so are easy to read. The pictures are excellent and encourage you to get on your boots and get out there. The routes are well written and checked by local ramblers.
Great book, ideal for the fireside read or walk planning but also to stuff into your rucksac and take it with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2014
I bought this to replace a well used and much loved copy left on a hill in the Peak District. Wonderfully informative and inspirational book for dedicated walkers and lovers of the beauty of nature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2014
Beautiful pictures, great descriptions, maps are clear and interesting bits of history to go along with the info. Looking forward to more exploration of Britain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2015
This s a great book, well explained and plenty of nice pics. Very interesting read for walkers or just general interest. Would recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2016
Fabulous gift for foreign friends - and me!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)