Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
I bought this after seeing the film. Whilst not criticising the film - which I enjoyed, the book version is very different. Once you get used to Winifred Watson's idiosyncratic writing style, the story itself is hugely enjoyable. Certainly the character of Delissia LaFosse is more likeable in the book than she is in the film, and Miss Pettigrew has more backbone than her film version. A nice snapshot of life in 1930s London.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
This is a really fun book, full of surprise and moving along quickly. In a way it is fluffy, but at no time does it forget the impoverished reality of Miss Pettigrew's small life. I'm glad to have read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
This book was really good. A Refreshing read that was different and fun. The notes relating to the author were also very interesting, would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
An utter delight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
Just gorgeous.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
I loved this book, it draws you into a glamorous world intrigue and narrowly avoided disaster, and it has a happy ending!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Delightful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
Really nice read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
I read this book after seeing the film which came out a few years ago and having now read it again, I can't for the life of me think why the book hasn't stuck in my head the way the film has. A real gem, beautifully written, humorous yet moving even for a man. Winifred Watson's ability to sketch out her characters so vividly in so few words is amazing and Mary Thomson's Fougasse-style line drawings portray them so neatly. It's much more than a Cinderella story as the preface calls it. There were so many single women like Miss Pettigrew obliged to spend lonely lives after the First World War.

What a pity I can't find any of her other books - perhaps Persephone will be brave enough to republish 'Hope, Step and Jump'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Nice looking book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse