Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Six Days
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 August 2011
If you're a sci-fi fan like myself this book needs to go on your todo list. The first section of the book seems more of a mystery story than sci-fi but things soon change and some great original ideas appear with an ending that makes you want for more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2011
Six days is a dystopian sci fi adventure which is aimed at a younger YA audience. If you enjoyed Beth Revis's Across the Universe you will definitely enjoy this one too.

I must admit the start of this book left me a little confused. You are thrown in at the deep end in a world which is different from our own. The London you are in has been totally annihilated by some kind of biological weapon and then by scavs tearing the place apart searching for an "artifact". The people are living are tough lives ruled by a upper class who treat them like slaves. The language used in the story by the main characters very much reflects their social position within this world and takes some getting used to but by the end becomes part of its charm as well.

The main characters in this book are a sister and brother called Cass and Wilbur and you follow the story through Cass's eyes. They come from a scav family and have spend much of their lives searching for the artifact. Whilst Cass is a realist who gets on with it, Wilbur is much more of a dreamer and has ideas about using his comic books as clues to help him find the artifact. When you first meet them this is in fact what he is doing despite being told not to wander off. Whilst off hunting he has an accident and is saved by his sister and a mysterious stranger who is more than meets the eye and from then on the adventure really kicks off.

What I liked about this book is that it was both dystopian and sci fi and as I said it did remind me in many ways of Across the Universe with the sci fi elements. I'm not going to tell you anything specific about the storyline itself but I will say that once the action and adventure kicks off it keeps you engaged throughout and wanting to read page after page to find out what happens next. I loved following the main characters in their hunt for the artifact and loved seeing what the author did with the plot as I was surprised throughout in the way in which it turned out.

All in all a really enjoyable book which is exciting throughout and would appeal to both dystopian and sci fans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2011
Future London has been destroyed by bio-chemical warfare and taken over by the New Russians. Under their command, the Scavs search the remains of the city for an artefact no one has ever seen. No one even knows what it looks like. Cass's family do this day in, day out because they know no other way. Then on one shift her younger brother, Wilbur, disappears, believing he's onto the location of the artefact. Cass tracks him down to Big Ben where they come across a strange boy called Peyto. Peyto is from another time and reveals that they have six days to find the artefact otherwise the world will come to an end.

Six Days is an exciting, action packed sci-fi adventure. I found this book a little hard to get into right at the start, I think because it's written from Cass's point of view in the kind of slang you'd expect her to use. It wasn't hard to understand but for me it didn't seem to flow right away. A couple of (short) chapters in, however, I'd gotten used to it and in many ways it added to the story. Plus, the age of the reader this book is aimed at probably wouldn't even notice it's slang.

The story is much more plot based than character based and while the characters were likeable enough, I didn't feel like I really got to know them. Still, the action carried the story along nicely and so mostly the lack of deep connection with the characters wasn't really a bad thing. Don't get me wrong, the characters were certainly well developed in the author's mind and this showed in that they weren't dull or flat. Also, the plot was really detailed so it would have probably been too much to have a lot of in depth character development as well.

A great read which would particularly interest boys of the ten to fourteen age range.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
I have been a keen sci-fi reader since I was a teenager, so I've seen a wide range of excellent stuff over the years and this was one of the most enjoyable, imaginative stories that I've read. I also have children in their teens, so I've read a fair bit aimed at them. This book is written in a style that is straightforward but doesn't mess about with the cliches and predictable phrases that I've found often detract from books aimed at young adults. Sure, it doesn't have the depth, detail and seriousness of the classic sci-fi epics such as Dune and Foundation but it's a great way to get in to the genre thanks to the light touch. The characters are immediately engaging, the plot will keep you guessing without there being gratuitous set pieces, the depiction of the dystopian future is believable and there is a lot of potential to develop everything further and have the style mature with the readers as the Harry Potter series did.

I'm certainly looking forward to the sequel and hope that the story develops along equally exciting lines.

Definitely one for your children to enjoy - after you've spent time being unable to put it down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 July 2011
London may have been emptied of life because chemical warfare but it is the Scavs who are tearing it to pieces. Under the orders of the Vlads (their new Russian leaders) the Scavs are destroying everything one brick at a time as they search for a mysterious artifact. No one knows what this artifact looks like or what it can be used for but they know they have to find it if they want the Vlads to leave them in peace. Cass and Wilbur have grown up helping with the search but it is only when they meet a pair of mysterious strangers that they realise just how important the artifact is. Now they have only 6 days left to find it, and if they don't it will mean the end of the world.

When I first picked up Six Days I was expecting a dystopian story but it came as a pleasant surprise to find that it is also science fiction - I loved the mixture of the two genres. Although the story works well as a stand alone I'd be interested in revisiting this world again so I won't be disappointed if I find out there will be a sequel.

Cass is someone I liked from the first page, I loved her cockney accent although I can see that this could be harder for someone not familiar with her way of speech to get used to at first. It was fun watching the confusion her accent causes when she first meets Peyto, he spends quite a lot of time not having a clue what she is talking about so it's lucky her little brother Wilbur is there to translate for them. Cass is plucky, brave and very protective of Wilbur, she is also intelligent and uses her skills to keep her brother safe. In a lot of ways Wilbur is her opposite, he has a different way of looking at things and has always been a bit of a dreamer spending much of his time in his own little world. Cass often things of him as a little bit simple but as the story progresses you get to see just how smart really is.

It took me a few chapters to get hooked but once the story had it's claws in me I didn't want to put it down. It's action packed and compelling and a story I'd highly recommend to both dystopian and science fiction fans. Although the story is aimed at younger readers it has plenty for older teens and adults to enjoy too. A great debut from Philip Webb & I look forward to seeing what he comes up with next.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Things have not turned out well for London. In Six Days chemical warfare has, at some point in the not too distant future, turned the city into a diseased dystopia where Londoners are forced to slave away for the occupying Vlads [Russia having won the war]. Cass and Wilbur Westerby work with their father as Scavs tasked by the Vlads to hunt [or scavenge in fact] through the decaying remains of the city in search of a mysterious artefact. The hunt is proving tricky though as no one, not even the Vlads, knows exactly what the artefact is.

While the majority of Londoners, including Cass, simply want to find the artefact so that the hated Vlads will finally pack up and head home, Wilbur has his own thoughts about the nature of the artefact and believes that he can spot clues to its whereabouts in the Captain Jackson comics that he has found throughout the city. One such clue leads him to Big Ben and near disaster before Wilbur and Cass are helped by a strange boy named Peyto. Teaming up with Peyto and his friend Erin, Wilbur and Cass are soon hot on the trail of the artefact and a secret that could change the world.

Philip Webb's Six Days is a great science fiction adventure. The central mystery surrounding the artefact is certainly intriguing, the ravaged London of the future is brilliantly realised, and there is plenty of danger and excitement too. Although Cass is the most developed character since she is the one narrating the story, the other principle characters are engaging too. Cass, Wilbur, Peyto and Erin make a good team of heroes with each one adding something useful to the mission. A sense of danger hangs over their quest, not just due to the unknown nature of the artefact that they seek, but due to the villains that are pursuing them. The Okhotniks are particularly brilliant baddies.

Six Days is a dynamite dystopian yarn with enough mystery, action and adventure to keep readers hooked until the very end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
'Six Days' is set in a future London which we are to assume has been involved in a major war involving bio-chemical weapons. Not all human life has been destroyed though and the survivors are the 'Scavs' controlled by the oppressors the Vlad's (New Russians?). Scavs must spend each day searching for an artefact, yet no one has ever seen it or even knows what it looks like.

This young adult book crosses both the dystopian and science fiction genres but at it's heart it is very much an adventure story. Although slow to start the pace picks up after the first few chapters and moves along quickly after this.

Cass and Wilbur, both Scavs, are the two main characters with Cass being instantly likeable. She is gutsy, courageous and intelligent , whilst at all times protecting her younger brother Wilbur. The relationship between Cass and Wilbur is one of the main threads running through the book and Webb expresses the thoughts of each sibling to the other expertly.

As the book progresses it does become much more of a Science Fiction adventure as we meet beings from other worlds, travel into space and encounter the strange part machine-part human 'Okhotniks'.

As a debut novel there is lots to enjoy here and I was pleased that what I thought was going to be another dystopian fiction novel actually developed into something a little more interesting.

Webb has written a story that although a little bit of a slow burner will hook you. Once in you will enjoy the engaging characters, the clever plot and getting an insight into Webb's wonderful imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
A thoroughly enjoyable, though very high concept, sci fi / dystopian romp. I could pick holes in the plot and world building, but it sweeps you along at such a breakneck pace, with crazy ideas, unexpected situations and abrupt changes coming so thick and fast that you don't really have time to worry about such things.

I also liked the use of Arbor Low as a location, since it's pretty local to me, and is a highly atmostpheric place.

I bought Philip Webb's next book before I'd even finished this, cuz I'm pretty sure it'll be entertaining too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
What a great book. Really enjoyed the read. It's currently being passed around the family. Terry would be so proud.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
I'm not the world's number one sci-fi fan, but loved this book. Was quickly drawn in to the drama, and as the story gathered pace so did the speed of my reading, I couldn't put it down. Will be really interested to see what happens on the seventh day and beyond..... sequel please:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here