Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2013
This book, published in may 2013, is the latest in a series of picture albums showing railway locations closed in the 1960s using photographs taken mostly soon after closure. The books provide an interesting pictorial history as most locations are seen in some state of dereliction, but before any significant development of the sites eg demolition, refurbishment. Occasionally there are one or two then and now comparisons. Most of the photos are colour, and each is captioned. There is a map provided inside the front cover, although I have found it useful to have a fuller railway map to hand while studying this book. This is the case too for the other books in the series. All of them are very good and ideal for anyone wishing to find out more about railway history or to supplement other pictures of locations they may have. Inside the back cover is a list of the other books in the series including the two next projected volumes, to cover Dorset and Gloucestershire, in preparation for publication in 2014. Overall, an excellent series of books. Recommended.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I have just received mine. This is definitely a must for anyone interested in railways in the south-west. The photos took me right back to when I was a schoolboy, desperately trying to record the passing scene but I couldn't afford colour film. This book fills that gap admirably with its colour photos. I liked the unpretentious style, and there is so much atmosphere of those bitter-sweet times. Hard to choose favourites, but candidates would be the token exchange at Wadebridge, the 'Warship' on the still open Newquay branch passing beneath Treffry viaduct which carried a canal and the old route of the Newquay branch latterly a quarry line, and the last day train at Latchley with the 'Farewell' board on the front - I could go on!

The book also includes some hints of optimism with the Welsh quarry loco at Launceston Steam Railway, an ex-GWR small prairie tank at Boscarne Jct on the Bodmin and Wenford preserved railway and a reopening scene at Plym Bridge Halt (or was it Platform in the old days? See Regional History of the Railways of GB - vol. 1, and also the headboard on the loco). We railway enthusiasts are a pedantic breed!

The advice is buy!
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This book compliments the many others I have on the railways of Cornwall and Devon. The illustrations are good and for anyone looking at the history of the railways in these two counties this is an excellent reference book
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
This book contains many colour photo's from the 1960's that I think have not been published previously. Many of the pictures are taken just before or after closure & offer a poignant record of the Beeching era in Devon & Cornwall. The author is well versed and occasionally quite witty. I would recommend this little book to all those who are interested in the history of the westcountry's railways.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
It's unusual to get colour photos from this era, so this book is an enjoyable & nostalgic journey into the past. It also highlights the lack of foresight and the haste in which railways were closed in the Beeching era, and that little regard has been given in preserving the integrity of the routes for possible future use. If you love railways of the Beeching era, and love the West Country, you will love this book..
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
A book that covers the topic well with an obvious passion from the author. The only minor criticism was that some of the illustrations would have been better in a larger format; although as some of these I had not previously seen published, this was entirely excusable.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
Superb photographs a real nostalgia trip and places I have never heard of. You do not have to be a real train buff to appreciate this book. It is worth every penny
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Worth seeing this man talk - he is a wealth of knowledge & had plenty of anecdotes.
His book is just as good.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I had seen this book before and wanted it for a gift. I found it easily on Amazón and the delivery was excellent.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 December 2014
Full of interesting photographs and information for the railway enthusiast.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)