Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
8
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2008
I was really looking forward to seeing this book, as I loved the author's previous offering, The Traditional Sweater Book, published over 20 years ago. Imagine my disappointment on receiving it to find that every single one of the patterns was included in the previous book. The author has used modern yarns and changed some of the colours, but otherwise there is nothing new in this book, so check your bookshelves before you waste money on what is virtually a reprint of the old book. My copy is going straight back to Amazon!
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2009
While the sweaters in this book are undoubtedly lovely, I cannot help but be severely annoyed. I had bought Weston's 'Traditional Sweater' book not long ago and found, to my great disappointment, that most of the sweaters in the Country Weekend Knits are taken from the other book (or vice versa). So now I have two books, different titles, different format, and the same sweaters.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
This book has a section on each of the traditional types of knitting from the british Isles; Aran, fairisle, shetland lace and ganseys. It includes patterns for men and women, and each of the patterns stays true to its tradition, so you find the fairisles are knitted in the correct weight of wool and mostly use the traditional patterns. There are clear instructions, photos and charts and the designs are very knit-able. The book asumes you will have some previous experience of knitting, though there are some basic instructions on techniques relevant to the designs (e.g. cabling). It is nice to have a book that is not a 'beginner's guide to...'. At the start of each section there are a couple of large-text pages giving you some of the history associated with each style of knitting, though you may find that nothing here is new to you. There is a useful photo index at the end. It is good to have one book that gathers all these styles together.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
This is a beautifully presented book which whets your appetite for intricate, traditional knitting techniques and patterns. The patterns are well laid out and easy to understand - required skill levels clearly denoted. An absorbing read of the history of the knits chosen - makes me want to acquire far more advanced knitting skills than I have. A must have for the dedicated knitter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Already had a few of these patterns in a fusty old book with poor diagrams and photo's but this really gives them an update. Clear concise instructions. Possibly a few more photographs with men wearing the items may be helpful as my son and husband tend to go for these even though the others can be unisex
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 March 2010
If you don't have the original Weston 'Traditional Knits' book, you will perhaps find this enchanting. 20 + year old sweaters in new yarns. To my eye, they look a little bit dated. I would have liked to have seen something new, a new twist on the original patterns. beautifully photographed and presented, the sweaters have that desirable traditional hand-made feel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
I was delighted with this book - having read a recommendation in Vogue Knitting some time last year.
Visually it is a treat: the patterns are beautifully photographed - so that all details are quite clear - and of course the surroundings are delightful. Each section has a little history of the type of knitting involved (Shetland, Fair Isle, etc.) and of the author's experience with it.
The patterns are distinctly "classical", which is the whole point of the exercise! They are not too rugged, so that I shan't actually have to go and live in the Hebrides to wear them!!
The colourways are very conemporary and I look forward to knitting most of these. The directions are perfectly clear.
Unfortunately the pattern for Tree of Life Aran Jacket has quite a serious mistake - the left and right sides don't match - luckily I spotted this in time.............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Fantastic ganseys for the winter,delicate patterns and great fairisle and arrans too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse