Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2010
How do you follow up Rogue Male? In many aspects the closing words in Rogue Male conjure up so much expectation and anticipation that any sequel must surely fall short? When I firt read it I was dissapointed - such were my expectations - it is far more action packed and contains kill after kill with the lead character being almost Rambo-like in his hatred and disposal of Nazis. I just wasn't expecting it to read like this - I wanted a slower build up with the hunter going after Hitler and a story that describing him getting closer and closer to his target. ASs it is the book starts in relative defeat - he has already been captured and fortunately for him a bomb raid has blown up his prison leaving him the only survivor, who must again negotiate a foreign land but this time he is not out to just escape but to wreak revenge on any Nazi that crosses his path.

When I heard the audio version on BBC 7 however I got to re-appraise the story and appreciate it as a worthy book in its own right - I was able to put aside my huge expectations and as a thriller I was impressed. The ending is quite fascinating and reminiscent of Dance of the Dwarfs for its strangeness and power.

But you know, if you wanted a book to read as a kind of sequel to Rogue Male I would not go to this book first but advise you to try Dance of the Dwarfs - the hero is just as resourceful,impressive and self sufficient and the plot line is extremely original and has a hunter and hunted theme (but with a sinister,genuinely scary and spine tingling edge).

In summary: a good thriller and worth a read but keep your expectations in check.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
Rogue Male....a well written story...no spoilers but 1939 WW2 , murder spies torture pain, and Rogue Justice is a follow up written years later in 1982 when the author Geoffrey Household was 82....
It is almost as if he writes about himself....he hated Nazis loved Europe as it was formerly without frontiers....
His books are thrillers, but multi layered with psychology passionate love and hatred....he writes on the human condition.
I really can recommend Geoffrey Household, track down his stories and he will pull you into a fascinating world.
Amazon has GH DVD and books.......

BBC radio4 extra. Just finished serial of Rogue Male...it's on iplayer
And running Rogue Justice starts Monday 12th September 2011
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
The sequel to the classic 'Rogue Male' was published in 1982 when the author was 82 years old, yet it does not feel or read like the work of an old man. The pace is fast and the plotting tight as the story moves to Europe as one man's revenge mission against the Nazi's becomes a battle for survival and a search for his soul. Slightly lacking the originality of'Rogue Male', this is none the less a masterful suspence novel that once again delves deep into the complexities of human nature and mans falibility.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
Having written one of the best all time thrillers, Rogue Male, Geoffrey Household has equalled this with Rogue Justice. Very few follow-ups capture the imagination as the original, but Household pulls it off. Like Rogue Male, it's extremely readable and as you get into the story, it's difficult to put the book down. The leas character makes James Bond look like a pansy. Dennis Munday.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 September 2013
This is the much delayed and (apparently) much anticipated sequel to Rogue Male. The first book was published in 1939, while this book was released in 1982. Much had changed in the 43 years between these two books.

While the first book seemed plausible - a story of revenge and survival, mostly set in the closeted countryside of Dorset - the second seems to be a "boys own adventure", that releases the hero of both stories as an anonymous gentleman killing machine. Knives, rifles and deep muddy bogs are deployed to kill enemy soldiers with an ease that echoes some of the more ridiculous action feature films of the 1980s.

But, in brief passages in the early part of the book, and for about its final 1/3 the book it takes on a more subtle and believable tone. The relentless killing of the first part of the book does take a toll on our now named hero, and he begins to question what he is doing. The scenes where he is being questioned (again) at the end of the book are the best sections of this slim volume.

This is not a long book - less the 160 pages - and it does tie up all the loose ends from Rogue Male. But I think I would only recommend it if you are a real fan of thrillers or action / suspense novels.

As a rider to my review I think I need to say that I don't read very many novels of this type, and this of course may have affected my review.

Proceed with caution.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 March 2015
I read 'Rogue Male' decades ago, and have re-read it many times. This sequel gives me mixed feelings.

Yes, there's an end to the tale and yes, we discover the hero's name and background. But it is a more conventional war/revenge adventure, compared to the inventive, claustrophobic and somewhat prescient original.

You may enjoy it on its own merits, you may like to see the loose ends tied up, or you may feel that maybe Household shouldn't have written it and left the hero's fate the mystery that it was at the end of 'Rogue Male'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
This is the continuing story of the acclaimed 'Rogue Male' by Geoffrey Household. Full of action, intrigue, and sufficient suspense to satisfy any reader.To my mind, Rogue Justice equals, or betters Rogue Male .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Read it 40 years ago and can't wait to read it again. Geoffrey Household seems to be a forgotten name in British literature which is a shame. Has a wonderful humour within his writing. This is the sequel to 'Rogue Male' so would recommend reading that book first which is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Rogue Male is one of my all time favourite thrillers, so this sequel, which the author penned 40+ years later was a must read. Rogue Justice picks up a few years after the pre-war setting of the original story, with our unnamed hero still unsuccessfully waging a one-man (or sportsman) vendetta against the killer of his only love - his target now clearly identified as one A. Hitler.

Whereas Rogue Male's claim to masterpiece status was the claustrophobia of obsession and the juxtaposition of the hunter and the hunted, Rogue Justice is a much less subtle work, little more than a catalogue of violent episodes narrated by the hero as he careers around Nazi-occupied Eastern Europe in an attempt to get back to Britain and join the now raging World War. Household was a storytelling craftsman, and skilfully weaves in the irony that all the gallivanting and subterfuge in the various assassination attempts mark the hero as a fellow-travelling Nazi to British Intelligence. It all becomes a little far-fetched though the end is apt as the rogue male achieves a state of grace (or terminal insanity!) returning to his one true love through a big game hunting finale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
3 stars mean its OK. Far less enjoyable than the wonderful "Rogue Male". The plot is much less interesting in that the hero is now more typical of other fictional protagonists whereas in "Rogue Male " he was unique,in a unique situation. Given this the book is a chronological account of his adventures from escaping wartime Britain ,to Germany and then through Eastern Europe to Greece just one wartime episode after another and one location after another. Its well written and gives insight into the war situation in E. Europe but the fact that I can't even remember the ending after a lapse of two months shows it did n't really grip me. Not that different from many real WW2 stories and one expects fiction to expand a little bit on the real life stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here