Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£20.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2013
This book is very well laid out with great information on each of the rides. The picture quality is excellent, and it has got me planning holidays for the next few years!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
This is a seriously good book with some seriously good routes that will appeal to serious cyclists without being too... well, serious. Seriously, the routes are cracking, beautifully presented and illustrated and leavened with some wry and dry observations from Dave Barter - a rising star in the world of cycling writing. Mr Barter is that rare and excellent thing: a serious cyclist who doesn't take himself to seriously.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
It has lots of information in it. Really good cycles i cant wait to try them in the warmer months. It has places you can stop off. it has different levels of difficulty. reviews for each route. It was really hard finding a book with good routes this was the only one i found that was good enough. it has up to date routes and maps
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Lots of old favourites mixed in with plenty of new routes. Very nicely presented but at the upper end of the price range. A nice present for an enthusiast. Apart from the price, one caveat is that the book is called Great British Bike Rides but N Ireland which has many lovely routes, is conspictuous by its abscence. .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Great book with some fantastic routes. Only two slight issues. All the rides are fairly long so a few shorter rides may have been good ( although short cuts are provided on the majority of the routes). Some of the maps aren't the clearest.
Overall a great boom to have for motivation and inspiration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
There are some great rides and I had the pleasure of going on some of them. The rides are categorised by difficulty level, lots of pictures and tips. Simply but very useful. Great in combination with GPS tools. Find a nice ride in the book, build your ride online, load it on your GPS and off you go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Bought this for my husband who absolutely loves it ! Has read it from cover to cover and already planned several rides.
Really pleased - well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I have ridden literally 1000's of miles in England, Wales and Scotland, I bought this book with a similar intention as the 100 greatest climbs, ie as a tick list of things I have done ;-)

The book arrived and it is so much more, roads and routes that I have cycled many times and I have familiar routes for have been given new twists by Dave, he gives clear indication of the road surface and the types of road used.

If you are going on holiday there is sure to be a route in the book that is not to far away.

The book is worth the money just for the stunning photography let alone the routes and the narrative.

I have now started thinking about re-visiting some of the far flung places in the British Isles to see what I missed! and my desire for a tour of Scotland has been rekindled.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
This is a great and inspiring book with some lovely photos. The author is obviously a huge enthusiast. The routes are definitely for the fitter end of bike user market as all the circuits are pretty lengthy. However the author has included short cuts to reduce the route size. The hill profiles are very very detailed. It's not a book that you can stick in the rear pocket of your cycle top and head off. One to inspire you to get out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
A great book, really well detailed. All the rides are fairly long (for me) but there are shorter alternatives for all of them where possible. It gives a good introduction to cycling in many different parts of Great Britain and has certainly inspired us to travel further afield for cycling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)